Hi everyone,

I just wanted to share this article I wrote about the price of a LEGO brick overtime. There seems to be a lot of misconceptions about LEGO brick pricing so I decided to write a program to compile data from all the major LEGO sites (brickset, bricklink, peeron) and do an evaluation on it.

After going through about 10,000 items in the online catalog between the three sites this is what I came up with.

What Happened With LEGO, The Price of a Brick

Let me know what you think and if you have any suggestions for a followup!

That was a really informative article, thank you.

Excellent article. Nice to see a mathematical analysis. I have never perceived lego as increasing in price, because I remember how little we had of it as children since it was expensive. I am glad I can afford it for my kids ( and myself) because I still believe it is of excellent quality.

As a professional number-geeky analyst I really appreciated the hard work you put into that document. And the results were unexpected.

Thanks for sharing it with us!

Hey asielen,thanks for posting that page.But the past couple of weeks I have been to Walmart and found 8 or 10 Lego sets that went on clearance and I ended up getting them for almost or better than half price,like Star Wars Darth Maul Sith Infiltrator for $27 regular $60,7942 City Off Road Fire Rescue for $5 regular $11,and Clone Wars 7964 Republic Frigate for $44.50 regular $100.00 I think.But my point is this that even tho your news is right I really think even better prices can be found if you look for them,so instead of paying say roughly 10 or 11 cents per lego piece you would pay only 5 cents apiece or whatever.

Also I am not arguing with you about that I just wanted to add that for reference.I still like your post about it tho.

Like other comments, nice info and article :)