Jump to content


Website Outage


186 replies to this topic

#1 Basiliscus

Basiliscus

    Posts: 388
    Joined: 09-August 06
    Member: 890
    Country: Scotland, UK

Posted 09 December 2011 - 04:47 PM

Hi all,

I usually access EB either from Chrome (v 15.0.874.121 m) on my Windows XP PC or through my Android (Gingerbread) phone. On several occasions during the last week I have had the "Chrome cannot display this webpage" message (and the equivalent on my phone).

At first I thought it might be a problem with my router but I have tried it through the router at work as well as my mobile network. It only happens intermittently so I wondered if it was maybe a server overload type issue?

If anyone can help with this I'd really appreciate it!

Cheers,

Colin

Edited by Basiliscus, 09 December 2011 - 04:48 PM.

Wahil Musca, slaver and entrepreneur of Kaliphlin, ambassador to the Emir of Gorr



Latest MOCs
Posted Image-Posted Image-Posted Image-Posted Image

Flickr

#2 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 13999
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 09 December 2011 - 04:58 PM

On occasion the site can go down for maintenance, but not that often.  I have not experienced any outages this past week.

Being that I don't know if there was maintenance done, I will say cell networks often have hiccups, my gingerbread phone does from time to time. Even with full bars the internet just doesn't want to load, often disabling data and re-enabling it solves it for me. As for your work router, are you sure they still allow access to forums? I got EB blocked at my work.

One of the roots will have to chime in to let us know if there was any maintenance being done, so we know for sure.

#3 Hinckley

Hinckley

  • Jesus F R A C


    Posts: 29131
    Joined: 15-September 05
    Member: 486
    Country: Chicago, USA

Posted 09 December 2011 - 06:09 PM

I've noticed it slow on occasion this week but it hasn't gone down. We'll check into it.

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here
Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


#4 Basiliscus

Basiliscus

    Posts: 388
    Joined: 09-August 06
    Member: 890
    Country: Scotland, UK

Posted 09 December 2011 - 06:34 PM

Thanks for the replies guys.

Big Cam - I have been on EB before at work (and after one of these events too) so I don't think it's blocked at work. I can get on other sites no problem, it just seems to be EB. Thanks for the comment though!

Hinckley - Thanks for that!  :thumbup:  I wondered if all this Historica business had meant more people accessing than normal?

Wahil Musca, slaver and entrepreneur of Kaliphlin, ambassador to the Emir of Gorr



Latest MOCs
Posted Image-Posted Image-Posted Image-Posted Image

Flickr

#5 Rocketbilly

Rocketbilly

    Posts: 806
    Joined: 23-November 08
    Member: 4462
    Country: England

Posted 09 December 2011 - 07:24 PM

I've been having issues with the site this week too. I'll try and load a topic in the forum, my browsers says it's loading and then after about a minute or so (far longer than usual) it says that the webpage cannot be displayed. This isn't all the time, but has been happening quite frequently. At worst, the front page wouldn't load either.

#6 Bonaparte

Bonaparte

  • Member of the stwnfbjs Club


    Posts: 14053
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 09 December 2011 - 08:10 PM

I do not know at this moment what the issue was (is) but I do know there wasn't a resource issue reported in any of the logs on our server. If this issue persists I'll contact our provider to get their view.

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.

Posted Image

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here


Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide




#7 Flipz

Flipz

  • Treason didn't work for him


    Posts: 6802
    Joined: 01-December 11
    Member: 22657
    Country: California, USA

Posted 09 December 2011 - 09:15 PM

Earlier today, I kept trying to post in the Heroica Hall topic, and the site kept timing out when I tried to post.  :sceptic:  It works now, but...  (This lasted throughout the 11:00 AM hour California time, don't know when that would be for the servers.)

May be slightly depressed due to learning that Shortpacked! is ending in a year. :,-(
Posted Image
Arthur Justus Regulus VII, Level 31 Skirmisher, 22-year-old male Human??? in Sandy's Heroica RPG!
[STATS]


#8 Basiliscus

Basiliscus

    Posts: 388
    Joined: 09-August 06
    Member: 890
    Country: Scotland, UK

Posted 09 December 2011 - 09:50 PM

Thanks Bonaparte for the comment. Rocketbilly describes the issue far more succinctly than I did below:


View PostRocketbilly, on 09 December 2011 - 07:24 PM, said:

I've been having issues with the site this week too. I'll try and load a topic in the forum, my browsers says it's loading and then after about a minute or so (far longer than usual) it says that the webpage cannot be displayed. This isn't all the time, but has been happening quite frequently. At worst, the front page wouldn't load either.

Maybe there isn't an issue but just thought I'd bring it to your attention!

Wahil Musca, slaver and entrepreneur of Kaliphlin, ambassador to the Emir of Gorr



Latest MOCs
Posted Image-Posted Image-Posted Image-Posted Image

Flickr

#9 Fallenangel

Fallenangel

    Posts: 2469
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4964
    Country: 미국

Posted 10 December 2011 - 06:05 PM

Maybe it's just because I've been looking through old threads, but lately I've also noticed the site being slower than usual.

#10 KielDaMan

KielDaMan

    Posts: 9541
    Joined: 04-February 09
    Member: 5203
    Country: PILIPINAS

Posted 10 December 2011 - 06:34 PM

Same here, I've noticed this slow page loading difficulty in the past couple of weeks actually. I initially thought it might've been just poor connection by the ISP here in our place, but then when I browse others sites I don't experience the same problem. It's not really that much of a big issue, as I only experience it for a short while (around 30-45 mins), then it disappears. Though it seems to occur randomly, and I have not observed it the past two days, unlike others who reported to have experienced it today.

NEW! Legends of Chima Review: 70008 - Gorzan's Gorilla Striker

Posted Image

Currently playing as the Sheriff Kenneth Emanuel in Tamamono's Silver City Mafia

My Eurobricks Page / My flickr / My MOCpages


#11 Masked Builder

Masked Builder

  • Hoping to get it up tonight


    Posts: 7908
    Joined: 16-April 10
    Member: 10293
    Country: New York, USA

Posted 10 December 2011 - 07:21 PM

Slow, yes.  I just figured it was my computer though.  Sometimes it'll load faster if you refresh the page you were trying to view.
Posted ImagePosted Image
Alexis Fenral
Level 43.8 In Heroica RPG, On Quest #102
Flickr, Bricklink Store, The Review Spot, Facebook

#12 Flipz

Flipz

  • Treason didn't work for him


    Posts: 6802
    Joined: 01-December 11
    Member: 22657
    Country: California, USA

Posted 10 December 2011 - 08:19 PM

View PostMasked Builder, on 10 December 2011 - 07:21 PM, said:

Slow, yes.  I just figured it was my computer though.  Sometimes it'll load faster if you refresh the page you were trying to view.

That actually makes the problem worse for me...

I haven't experienced the problem yet today, so hopefully... *crosses fingers*

EDIT: Happened again.  Started at 5:40 PM Pacific Time, ended while I was having dinner.

BTW, the site timestamps are messed up.  I have to set my display to Alaska time to get Pacific time.  DST is not set to be on, so IDK why this would be happening.

Edited by Flipz, 11 December 2011 - 03:27 AM.

May be slightly depressed due to learning that Shortpacked! is ending in a year. :,-(
Posted Image
Arthur Justus Regulus VII, Level 31 Skirmisher, 22-year-old male Human??? in Sandy's Heroica RPG!
[STATS]


#13 Big Cam

Big Cam

  • A good mood, too.


    Posts: 13999
    Joined: 02-April 09
    Member: 5701
    Country: USA

Posted 11 December 2011 - 06:16 AM

View PostFlipz, on 10 December 2011 - 08:19 PM, said:



BTW, the site timestamps are messed up.  I have to set my display to Alaska time to get Pacific time.  DST is not set to be on, so IDK why this would be happening.
This has been a known issue for a long time, I recall bringing this up a few years ago, and I do believe the solution was to just adjust the time until it displayed correctly for you.

#14 Bonaparte

Bonaparte

  • Member of the stwnfbjs Club


    Posts: 14053
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 11 December 2011 - 12:34 PM

I just made a ticket with our server provider asking them to investigate on their end.

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.

Posted Image

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here


Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide




#15 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19293
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 11 December 2011 - 12:49 PM

View PostFlipz, on 10 December 2011 - 08:19 PM, said:

BTW, the site timestamps are messed up.  I have to set my display to Alaska time to get Pacific time.  DST is not set to be on, so IDK why this would be happening.
Yes, they have always been wrong. We could correct them but what's the point? Time on a global forum is rather irrelevant anyway and since most people have set their time taking the error into consideration it'd annoy more people fixing it now.





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#16 Bonaparte

Bonaparte

  • Member of the stwnfbjs Club


    Posts: 14053
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 18 December 2011 - 09:04 PM

I know we are still having some slowness and some tests on our server are still ongoing.

I promise we'll find a solution and implement it in the near future because we want this place to run super smooth all the time.

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.

Posted Image

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here


Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide




#17 Alasdair Ryan

Alasdair Ryan

  • Technic Hall of Fame Editor


    Posts: 4928
    Joined: 22-November 09
    Member: 8292
    Country: Scotland

Posted 19 December 2011 - 02:42 AM

I have had some issues as well,it is timing out some times.
Posted Image

Updated 02/08/12
Posted Image

#18 VBBN

VBBN

  • Teaching is made up of patience


    Posts: 4945
    Joined: 27-May 07
    Member: 1621
    Country: United States

Posted 19 December 2011 - 02:51 AM

The server load may be a bit more too as more people will surely be on here in the coming days due to the holidays, people have time off work and may be on here more than normally.

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide

Posted Image

^Click to View^


#19 Bonaparte

Bonaparte

  • Member of the stwnfbjs Club


    Posts: 14053
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 19 December 2011 - 08:21 AM

View PostVBBN, on 19 December 2011 - 02:51 AM, said:

The server load may be a bit more too as more people will surely be on here in the coming days due to the holidays, people have time off work and may be on here more than normally.
Yes, that may very well be. I'm hoping we can still fix all this in the coming days, so before the holidays (at least when they start here in Belgium which is in one week). With the increasing amount of visitors on Eurobricks our webserver is sometimes using a lot of CPU and is reaching the limits of our current system. Most probably the solution will be to move this entire site to a more powerful server. The details and exact timing are still being discussed with our provider.

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.

Posted Image

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here


Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide




#20 Flipz

Flipz

  • Treason didn't work for him


    Posts: 6802
    Joined: 01-December 11
    Member: 22657
    Country: California, USA

Posted 17 January 2012 - 05:51 AM

Well, I don't know if it means anything, and I don't know if my report will help, but it's started happening again.  At around 8:00 PM Pacific Time (US), EB started timing out sporadically.  For several minutes at a time, I was completely unable to load any page.  If it helps, most of the trouble happened while trying to change my profile and sig and while using the "jump to page ___" feature in the RPG forum.

Edited by Flipz, 17 January 2012 - 05:52 AM.

May be slightly depressed due to learning that Shortpacked! is ending in a year. :,-(
Posted Image
Arthur Justus Regulus VII, Level 31 Skirmisher, 22-year-old male Human??? in Sandy's Heroica RPG!
[STATS]


#21 Brickdoctor

Brickdoctor

  • Look at my Post Count!


    Posts: 20631
    Joined: 06-June 10
    Member: 11254
    Country: California, USA

Posted 17 January 2012 - 06:01 AM

I can confirm that. Active Content wouldn't load for about five minutes. Nothing serious.

#22 Fallenangel

Fallenangel

    Posts: 2469
    Joined: 10-January 09
    Member: 4964
    Country: 미국

Posted 15 February 2012 - 06:56 AM

A few hours ago the site suddenly refused to load for maybe half an hour. Could have been just a one-time thing.

#23 LEGOman273

LEGOman273

    Posts: 2424
    Joined: 10-December 11
    Member: 22977

Posted 15 February 2012 - 05:40 PM

Maybe 20 minutes ago, the site would not load. I got 504 error: Gateway Timeout when I tried to access it. I was on the site, posting when it happened. It's back up now (obviously) and has been for a few minutes, but it might be connected to the problems other members have been having lately.

#24 Piranha

Piranha

  • Tag! You're it


    Posts: 4373
    Joined: 07-April 07
    Member: 1506
    Country: USA

Posted 16 February 2012 - 04:53 AM

It has been acting very slow for me lately as well.

Got Questions? Need help? New member?
Read the site guidelines | Index of helpful tutorials | Eurobricks FAQ

Posted Image
  


#25 Bonaparte

Bonaparte

  • Member of the stwnfbjs Club


    Posts: 14053
    Joined: 22-June 06
    Member: 822
    Country: Belgium

Posted 16 February 2012 - 01:53 PM

View PostMacoco, on 16 February 2012 - 04:53 AM, said:

It has been acting very slow for me lately as well.
Next time this is happening, please do this:

1/ open a DOS window
2/ run the command: tracert 83.169.34.155

Take a screenshot of the output and post it here.

Next, do the same when the EB is running smooth.

This should help to determine if this is a server or connection issue. I'm leaning towards the 2nd as I'm not experiencing these issues.

Want to find out more about our Reviewers Academy? Just click the logo.

Posted Image

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here


Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide






Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users