Jump to content


Avatar (profile picture) issues

profile avatar picture image

79 replies to this topic

#1 Nikola Bathory

Nikola Bathory

    Posts: 600
    Joined: 27-March 08
    Member: 2940
    Country: Bulgaria

Posted 02 December 2008 - 08:58 AM

Hi!
I try to upload an avatar pic from my PC, it's within the 100x100 limit, it's not bigger than 5 KB and I still get this error:

The total filespace required to upload all the attached files is greater than your per post or global limit. Please reduce the number of attachments or the size of the attachments.

Any idea why?  :pir_bawling:

#2 LuxorV

LuxorV

  • Will Cat Accordingly.


    Posts: 6253
    Joined: 11-July 07
    Member: 1771
    Country: Italy

Posted 02 December 2008 - 09:25 AM

Maybe you already have other attachments stored :pir-look: ?

The total filespace counts for the sum of all your attachments; it does not count for every single one.


LuxorV

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


Looking for new decals or help customising your LEGO elements? Check the Minifig Customisation Index!

My Brickshelf --- My Flickr


#3 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19295
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 02 December 2008 - 09:30 AM

Is that the one you wanted?





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#4 Nikola Bathory

Nikola Bathory

    Posts: 600
    Joined: 27-March 08
    Member: 2940
    Country: Bulgaria

Posted 02 December 2008 - 09:38 AM

View PostSinner, on Dec 2 2008, 11:30 AM, said:

Is that the one you wanted?

No. This one is a stupid generic avatar from within the forum gallery.  :pir_bawling:

I will have a look at the attachments, but I think that I don't have any other files in there.


edit: Great! It works now! I don't know how, but it works, hehe.

Feel free to close this topic.

Edited by Nikola Bathory, 02 December 2008 - 09:39 AM.


#5 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19295
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 02 December 2008 - 09:39 AM

View PostNikola Bathory, on Dec 2 2008, 07:38 PM, said:

No. This one is a stupid generic avatar from within the forum gallery.  :pir_bawling:

I will have a look at the attachments, but I think that I don't have any other files in there.

Are you sure? Posted Image

EDIT: It works because I fixed it. You must have some other attachments though...





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#6 Nikola Bathory

Nikola Bathory

    Posts: 600
    Joined: 27-March 08
    Member: 2940
    Country: Bulgaria

Posted 02 December 2008 - 09:40 AM

My mistake - maybe it needed time to refresh?

In any case, it works fine now. Thanks!

#7 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19295
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 02 December 2008 - 09:41 AM

View PostNikola Bathory, on Dec 2 2008, 07:40 PM, said:

My mistake - maybe it needed time to refresh?
Probably. Enjoy!





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#8 mandziarat

mandziarat

    Posts: 67
    Joined: 09-December 08
    Member: 4626
    Country: Barack's Land

Posted 29 December 2008 - 04:00 PM

Well, I want to upload an image for my avatar and the pixel size is 79 x 100 and the limit is 100 x 100 so I take it out of my profile, its shows up, and I click "update my avatar" but I still have my old Rock Raiders avatar, Help Me!!!!

Edited by mandziarat, 29 December 2008 - 04:01 PM.

Don't try me, unless  we can make a deal for Power Miners.

#9 WhiteFang

WhiteFang

  • Beep beep!


    Posts: 15571
    Joined: 31-December 07
    Member: 2351
    Country: Singapore

Posted 29 December 2008 - 05:39 PM

Is this the avatar which you are trying to upload? If so, it seemed to be fine.

Attached Images

  • member_avatar.jpg

My BrickLink Store // Sign up for Reviewers Academy // Trains & Town Reviews // Black Knights Kingdom (EBRP) // Watch out EB News!

Click here to find out more about WhiteFang


New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


My name is Wilhalm Bloodaxe and I am back to be part of the Ragnarök Now Redux.

Lord Kenneth Valise, Level 1 Knight, 28yrs old human
Power: 4 Health: 10/10 Gold: 10
Inventory: One potion, a Greatsword (WP: 3) and a Shield (SP: 2)


#10 Zorro

Zorro

  • Farewell Dieter!


    Posts: 5757
    Joined: 17-September 08
    Member: 3951
    Country: Belgium

Posted 29 December 2008 - 05:40 PM

You have to press "reload". Then take a fresh look and it should be there.

#11 mandziarat

mandziarat

    Posts: 67
    Joined: 09-December 08
    Member: 4626
    Country: Barack's Land

Posted 29 December 2008 - 10:10 PM

Nevermind, got a better one :classic:

Edited by mandziarat, 29 December 2008 - 10:27 PM.

Don't try me, unless  we can make a deal for Power Miners.

#12 WhiteFang

WhiteFang

  • Beep beep!


    Posts: 15571
    Joined: 31-December 07
    Member: 2351
    Country: Singapore

Posted 30 December 2008 - 03:03 AM

Ok then. Since the problem is solved, I will lock this topic.

My BrickLink Store // Sign up for Reviewers Academy // Trains & Town Reviews // Black Knights Kingdom (EBRP) // Watch out EB News!

Click here to find out more about WhiteFang


New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


My name is Wilhalm Bloodaxe and I am back to be part of the Ragnarök Now Redux.

Lord Kenneth Valise, Level 1 Knight, 28yrs old human
Power: 4 Health: 10/10 Gold: 10
Inventory: One potion, a Greatsword (WP: 3) and a Shield (SP: 2)


#13 jifel

jifel

    Posts: 1185
    Joined: 24-June 07
    Member: 1711
    Country: u.s.a.

Posted 12 April 2009 - 03:11 PM

Using this image , (which is a .jpg), I tried to cut it so I could get an avatar of the commanders head, (right here), but when I do this it turns the future avvie into a .bmp, so I cant use it!  :cry_sad:  :cry_sad:
Can someone help me?

(This might not go here, but I put it here since it involves Avatars.)

jifel

#14 Alice

Alice

  • Queen of the Shadows


    Posts: 721
    Joined: 26-November 07
    Member: 2227
    Country: USA

Posted 12 April 2009 - 03:22 PM

Here it is.. fixed.. just make sure you save it as a jpg next time.  

Posted Image

Please save and upload it to your own brickshelf in order to use it.
Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors where there were only walls.

#15 jifel

jifel

    Posts: 1185
    Joined: 24-June 07
    Member: 1711
    Country: u.s.a.

Posted 12 April 2009 - 03:28 PM

How do you save it as .jpg , for the future?

jifel

#16 Sinner

Sinner

  • Mike's Magical Elf


    Posts: 19295
    Joined: 29-April 07
    Member: 1554
    Country: Australia

Posted 12 April 2009 - 04:04 PM

View Postjifel, on Apr 13 2009, 12:28 AM, said:

How do you save it as .jpg , for the future?

jifel

Read this...





Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Full details on the Siegfried About Me page!


#17 ILikePi

ILikePi

    Posts: 2105
    Joined: 29-January 09
    Member: 5159
    Country: USA

Posted 12 April 2009 - 07:07 PM

View Postjifel, on Apr 12 2009, 07:28 AM, said:

How do you save it as .jpg , for the future?

jifel
You can just use MS paint to do it. All you need to do is open a picture in paint, click "File", then "Save As", and click the "Save as type" drop-down list.

EDIT: Here's an attachment... Deleted to save space.

Edited by ILikePi, 13 April 2009 - 01:46 AM.

Find out more about me on my WIP About Me page!
Latest LDD model: 7263 Temple Escape - Flickr - Brickshelf - My Collection (Brickset)


#18 jifel

jifel

    Posts: 1185
    Joined: 24-June 07
    Member: 1711
    Country: u.s.a.

Posted 12 April 2009 - 09:50 PM

View PostSiegfried, on Apr 12 2009, 12:04 PM, said:



View PostILikePi, on Apr 12 2009, 03:07 PM, said:

You can just use MS paint to do it. All you need to do is open a picture in paint, click "File", then "Save As", and click the "Save as type" drop-down list.

EDIT: Here's an attachment...
Thanks! I just needed the "save as type" part. I guess this can be closed, as my problem is solved.

jifel

#19 ILikePi

ILikePi

    Posts: 2105
    Joined: 29-January 09
    Member: 5159
    Country: USA

Posted 13 April 2009 - 01:46 AM

I'll remove my attachment then... (to save space)

Find out more about me on my WIP About Me page!
Latest LDD model: 7263 Temple Escape - Flickr - Brickshelf - My Collection (Brickset)


#20 CallMePie

CallMePie

  • Magic 8 Ball


    Posts: 11668
    Joined: 27-August 09
    Member: 7199
    Country: Florida, USA

Posted 22 November 2010 - 06:43 PM

I can't seem to be able to change my avatar. I've tried removing it and then opening a new one, just opening a new one, and I still can't seem to get it to change. However, while my current one is 100x100, the one I tried to change it to is 99x99, and it says that the picture (the one that won't change) is 99x99, while it is actually 100x100.

My computer recently got a memory wipe, and the file the avatar won't change from isn't there anymore, so I think it may very well have something to do with this.

Is there any way I, or a member of the staff, can fix this problem?
Posted ImagePosted Image
Atramor Gibbin, Level 32 Regulator in Sandy's Heroica RPG

#21 LuxorV

LuxorV

  • Will Cat Accordingly.


    Posts: 6253
    Joined: 11-July 07
    Member: 1771
    Country: Italy

Posted 22 November 2010 - 07:04 PM

First of all, are you sure you clicked on the Save Changes button after selecting the file from your computer?

A possible solution would be to up-load your avatar file on a photo sharing site (Brickshelf, Flickr, MOCpages and similar) and try to use the URL from there.

New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here

Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide


Looking for new decals or help customising your LEGO elements? Check the Minifig Customisation Index!

My Brickshelf --- My Flickr


#22 Fugazi

Fugazi

  • Welcome to Eurobricks. How can I help you?


    Posts: 3916
    Joined: 08-January 10
    Member: 8966
    Country: Canada

Posted 22 November 2010 - 08:16 PM

This happened to me a couple of times (getting a new size but still old avatar picture), usually refreshing the page solved the problem!
New Member? Read This | Questions? Need Help? Ask Here
Site Guidelines | Eurobricks FAQ | Visual User Guide

#23 CallMePie

CallMePie

  • Magic 8 Ball


    Posts: 11668
    Joined: 27-August 09
    Member: 7199
    Country: Florida, USA

Posted 22 November 2010 - 08:26 PM

Yes, I saved changes. I would've tried Brickshelf, but I noticed somebody already fixed it for me.  :grin:

Haven't tried refreshing yet, but again, already fixed.

Edited by CallMePie, 22 November 2010 - 08:27 PM.

Posted ImagePosted Image
Atramor Gibbin, Level 32 Regulator in Sandy's Heroica RPG

#24 Milan

Milan

    Posts: 3008
    Joined: 21-June 09
    Member: 6465
    Country: Serbia

Posted 22 November 2010 - 09:19 PM

I have one question regarding avatars, or to be more precise, about the pictures itself.
I was wondering how to make pictures (avatar) to have no background, I mean, lets say, just a car, without sky or whatever in the background?
Just picture of the car without any pixels shown around it.

I tried to manually cut the background from the picture, but when I upload it, it still has white background which is annoying in forums with colored skin.

Thanks
Website
FB Page


Posted Image Posted Image   Posted Image    Posted Image

#25 Rick

Rick

  • Wants to be important too! (but already is)


    Posts: 7619
    Joined: 11-February 09
    Member: 5261
    Country: The Netherlands

Posted 22 November 2010 - 09:33 PM

View PostMilan, on 22 November 2010 - 09:19 PM, said:

I tried to manually cut the background from the picture, but when I upload it, it still has white background which is annoying in forums with colored skin.
Not all file formats support transparency. JPG for example doesn't, GIF or PNG do support transparency. Be sure to set the background to transparent instead of white in your graphics program.



Reply to this topic



  



Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: profile, avatar, picture, image

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users