thomas_jenkins_bricks

[M4-23 - Nature is After You] - Yub Nub!

52954459705_f636ea16d1_c.jpg'Nature is After You' - Endor by Thomas  Jenkins, on Flickr

My entry for the Eurobricks May 4th Contest, Nature is After You category.

52954076756_afc25dc35a_c.jpg'Nature is After You' - Endor by Thomas  Jenkins, on Flickr

The prompt inspired me to try my had at terrain building- another building genre I've never tried before. I learned a lot form this little diorama and I think I'll try it again in the future. It was way more difficult to construct believable terrain, so props to the builders that make it look so easy! I went through a lot of different colour combos to emulate the Endor vibe but I was mostly limited by the bricks in my collection. My Bricklink wishlst has grown considerably over the course of this contest! 

52954217979_b8d83a0d3f_c.jpg'Nature is After You' - Endor by Thomas  Jenkins, on Flickr

I never thought I’d build myself an AT-ST. With some interesting shapes and a handful of greebles, it was a very fun little project and made even more so due to the fact I didn’t have to worry about how the thing would stand on two legs! There are so many incredible MOCs of the vehicle in the community, it was hard not to be influenced by a few of them, but hopefully I’ve produced something unique. 

I think you succeeded in creating a new AT-ST! Great job with all the angles. How did you get the tree to stay together so well without gaps?

1 hour ago, MKJoshA said:

I think you succeeded in creating a new AT-ST! Great job with all the angles. How did you get the tree to stay together so well without gaps?

Thanks :) im quite proud with how the AT-ST came together. I might have to try to make a version of this that stands up now!

A combination of these on the inside and these on the outside (and some 1x1 hollow round plates) keep the tree together and keep it standing upright. I hadn’t seen a tree made like that before- I tried to do something different there.