Megbricks

Newbie Powered up/boost/spike/weDo questions

Hi! Hopefully I am in the right section to post this. I am very very new to the world of motorisons lego stuff. For years I shaven been buying battery boxes, lights, remote and motors from the PowerFunction line. I never used them until now. I get how they works that’s all good

now of course there is the powered up stuff. And I am getting confused over how they work. I have a few questions. If you fell like answering them please go ahead. Please remember I am new to this I don’t need bashing. Just seeking answers for those questions I had :). 

1-powered up seems to have a hub with motors in it and a regular hub. Are they both connected to the app?

2-am I dreaming or have I seen a post somewhere that lego would introduce a cheaper powered up battery box (not connected to the app)

3-is boost the same thing as powered up?

4-is the Spike system the same as powered up?

5-what is we do?

thanks in advance if you can help me answer my questions :) if there is a link that explains all of this already on this forum or on the web, feel free to share:)

Edited by Megbricks

Hey - so I've a bit of a newbie myself but, like you, I started looking at this stuff and also found it super confusing (I'm actually surprised Lego's marketing team chose such a disjoint approach).

So here's what (I think) I've gathered so far:

- "Powered up" is the name of the family of hardware, which includes all the hubs, motors, and sensors from this line.

- Spike, WeDo, and Boost are specific lego sets that are tied to their own respective apps. They use subsets of the Powered Up family of hardware (i.e. there is a WeDo hub that is part of the Powered Up family,and there is a Boost hub that is also part of the Powered Up family).

- There is a "Powered Up" app that can control all Powered Up hardware, including the Powered Up hardware used for Spike, WeDo, and Boost.

31 minutes ago, lego_flyer said: