Sign in to follow this  
Omega   X

How do you decide what Lego set to buy?

Hello everybody! Firstly, may I point out that I am not very experienced in Lego. Thus, I am curious on what set(s) I should buy. So I shall ask the Eurobricks Community this question: How do you decide what Lego set to buy? :sweet:

P.S. Feel free to post your thoughts :classic:

Edited by Omega X

I can answer for myself, but to be helpful, I think I should point out that this will depend a lot on the buyer and his intended use for the set. Me, I'm an MOCer, so I look at parts value. How versatile are the parts? Are they unusual? Are they in colors that I use often? Do the minifigs integrate well with the MOCs I build? Is the part count satisfactory considering the price?

Personally I mainly buy sets for the minifigs as that is what I collect. I think you have to ask yourself what it is that YOU want from your Lego and go from there. What themes most interest you? Do you want a nice display piece or something to play with?

Edited by charlieboy

I normally look at sets I like, compare what I like in both and compare what I don't like. If I still can't decide, I ask on the topic. If I still can't decide... I buy both!

When I came back to Lego, I started by just buying sets that look good. There were so many I'd missed, and current sets are so good looking, so that's what I focused on.

Now I look for interesting sets on offer that provide a model I like the look of, but also extra value - eg creator 3-in-1, or parts that might be useful when I start MOCing (still playing it safe with predefined sets for now)

I have no interest in minifigs, but they do seem popular around here