TheLegoDr

A holiday train question

I am extremely new to trains. The only trains I own are the 2010 Hogwarts Express and the most recent Lone Ranger Constitution. With that said, my wife wants me to build her a Christmas train with power functions to go around the tree. I've done some research on where to place the power functions, but since I've never worked with them before, I don't really know where to begin. My questions:

How should a Christmas train look compared to the two trains I listed above? As in, what elements can I take from them and create an awesome looking train?

Where exactly should I put the PF motor? Should it be in the tender or somewhere else?

Is the new track in the Lone Ranger set the same as the boxed track I saw at the LEGO store?

I will have to measure exactly to see how big of a circle/oval she wants, so I will figure out how much track is needed, but otherwise I don't really know where to begin.

Any help will be most appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Check out 10173: Holiday Train for some inspiration from LEGO's offering from 2006. This is designed to be motorized with the 9V motor under the tender.

The great thing about LEGO is it can look however you want! :classic: Using Power Functions, the biggest issue is where the place the battery box. 10194: Emerald Night is the first Power Functions train and the battery box is in the tender with an XL-Motor supplying the power. The IR Receiver is placed in the boiler. Power Function trains are generally scaled larger than 9V trains due to the additional components required.

You can use 88002: Train Motor but you may be limited in placement with a steam locomotive. Some folks have placed the Power Functions elements inside a boxcar (battery and receiver) with the motor as one of the bogies.