FlyerNut

Looking for Tips & Techniques to Build Steam Engines

Hi everyone,

I enjoy looking at all the MOC's people are making, but I'd love to get some tips from their makers.

It'd be nice to see some building phase pictures to get an idea of what bricks are used to create certain effects, e.g. steam engine builds.

I'm a novice, so any help would be appreciated.

It's pretty hard to give general tips on steam engine building because the solutions differ greatly depending on the wheel arrangement. Once you've worked out how your wheels will work, that will influence pretty much everything else, so get your wheels and drive train worked out first.

For ideas I'd look at as many other AFOL builds as you feel necessary, and copy the techniques you like. There are hundreds of steamers in the Flickr lego train Mocs group, most builders show enough detail shots in their stream to work out what they've done. That skill improves the more you do it, so try and copy bits you like in real brick.

It might also be helpful to build from others instructions. Ben's BR23 is available as a free download on Railbricks as is a wild west train from gambort, and Sava sells instructions for some of his steamers.

After that it's a matter of trial and error for the most part.

It's pretty hard to give general tips on steam engine building because the solutions differ greatly depending on the wheel arrangement. Once you've worked out how your wheels will work, that will influence pretty much everything else, so get your wheels and drive train worked out first.

I second that advice. Steamers are basically in two parts: bottom (chassis, wheels, rods and pistons) and top (boiler, cabin etc.). Each part has its own challenges.