StudWorks

Am the only guy here with limited fictional media taste?

Hello! I am a 22-year-old LEGO builder on the spectrum, I build mostly cars but I am also a fan of fantasy media and like building stuff from my favorite franchises.

I only like fiction media where anything taking in the real world is relatively realistic (like The Office, with no superheroes, time machines, aliens, etc) and anything in a fictional high fantasy world (a closed fantasy world like Middle Earth, not something "isekai") can happen since it has no relation to the real world.

Because of this, I feel like the only nerd who's only into a single fictional genre with very specific tastes. For example, 99% of Star Wars fans I see (something I like) are also into Marvel and superheroes (something I dislike), and whenever I see someone's LEGO MOC collection, it looks like they're practically into every movie/game series ever made! :oh:

This had made it incredibly difficult for me to be myself and find friends who I can relate to, and has made the idea of attending a Comic-Con or anime convention seem impossible :cry_sad: so I was wondering if anybody else here feels the same or know people that feel the same.

Thanks.

3 hours ago, StudWorks said:

For example, 99% of Star Wars fans I see (something I like) are also into Marvel and superheroes (something I dislike), and whenever I see someone's LEGO MOC collection, it looks like they're practically into every movie/game series ever made! :oh:

I am a Star Wars fan and i have no interest in Marvel or superheroes! I never saw a single movie from the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

I like Game of Thrones, because for the most part the fantasy elements play a minor role and i like the diverse characters, politics and medieval world. Only later dragons and the like become more important in the series. On the other hand, i never saw a LotR movie!