Sign in to follow this  
aeralure

Little help on POVRay (Mac)?

I'm returning to Lego after 10+ years away and just restarting a physical collection. As such, I'm using LDD a fair bit. I'd really like to enter some contests and eventually share some builds, but at first due to a lack of physical bricks it would be digital imagery and LDD files mainly.

To make the imagery I'd like to do some rendering on my Mac. I realize this is already complicating my case slightly as it seems having a PC I'd be havng little to no issues at all. I'm a graphic designer, so I can usually navigate some (but not always all) technical issues and learning new software isn't a problem or a concern. I am stuck though on a couple points and wondering if I might ask for a bit of help or be pointed in the right direction? I have done a lot of searching this forum and Google in general and found my search results lacking. Most of it is topics saying "perform a search" or "go read this thread" and I'm just not finding a simple set of steps. Maybe it's not meant to be simple. ;)

I tried Bluerenderer, but I can't even launch it. There's no GUI, so I tried to doubleclick the .jar and launch it through Terminal to no avail. I really don't know what to do with it. Perhaps I can ask in the Bluerenderer thread.

I saw a recent post about LeoCAD, Blender and 3DSMax and that looks promising, but I don't have and can't afford 3DSMax right now.

A route that does seem plausible right now is POVRay on the Mac. I can't figure out how to convert my LDD files into something POVRay can see, but I can remake models in Bricksmith (tedious) and open them in LDView and then export them to POVRay. This is the furthest I have gotten so as tedious as it is to try and work with both LDD and Bricksmith maybe it's the best way to go? Here's where I am stuck at the moment though:

Once I get a model into POVRay if I hit Render I get this error: