Jump to content


Problems with switchtracks


6 replies to this topic

#1 Commander Red Hat

Commander Red Hat

  • Leader of the Redcoats!


    Posts: 5448
    Joined: 26-August 07
    Member: 1914
    Country: Netherlands

Posted 14 June 2009 - 05:42 PM

Posted Image

This is a question for you trainheads.
When i ride my models over the switchtracks they often derail or just stop.
I wonder if this is a common problem, or that there might be some solutions to this?
Why do you need TLC to make sets for you, all you really need is parts...be creative!

The build a frigate tutorail!

New members please read the guidelines.
If you have any trouble in posting, deeplinking etc, please consult the
tutorials, or the help
section.
My Flickr

#2 TheBrickster

TheBrickster

  • Loved Ghost Ranger


    Posts: 9642
    Joined: 15-January 05
    Member: 174

Posted 14 June 2009 - 06:25 PM

View PostCaptain Green Hair, on Jun 14 2009, 09:42 AM, said:

This is a question for you trainheads.
When i ride my models over the switchtracks they often derail or just stop.
I wonder if this is a common problem, or that there might be some solutions to this?
I've never had any problem with my switch track, aside from the Emerald Express running a little rough over them when I didn't align the wheels properly.

Are you running 9V electric track?  I'm wondering if you have a short of some kind.

#3 Commander Red Hat

Commander Red Hat

  • Leader of the Redcoats!


    Posts: 5448
    Joined: 26-August 07
    Member: 1914
    Country: Netherlands

Posted 14 June 2009 - 07:07 PM

View PostTheBrickster, on Jun 14 2009, 07:25 PM, said:

I've never had any problem with my switch track, aside from the Emerald Express running a little rough over them when I didn't align the wheels properly.

Are you running 9V electric track? I'm wondering if you have a short of some kind.

Yes it is 9V track.
I've discovered the problem, it is with my models.
I think the tram is too top heavy and need some weight in the bottom to drive more stable.
With my steam engine i've gone too low with the bottom, which isn't a problem on normal track, but on the switches it is.
The gaps in between the rails on the switchtracks might have been a little smaller, that would smoothen the ride out as well i think.

So the Emerald goes over smoothly, or is it a bumpy ride on the switches?
Why do you need TLC to make sets for you, all you really need is parts...be creative!

The build a frigate tutorail!

New members please read the guidelines.
If you have any trouble in posting, deeplinking etc, please consult the
tutorials, or the help
section.
My Flickr

#4 Brickimad

Brickimad

    Posts: 75
    Joined: 25-April 09
    Member: 5891
    Country: UK

Posted 14 June 2009 - 08:16 PM

View PostCaptain Green Hair, on Jun 14 2009, 08:07 PM, said:

Yes it is 9V track.
I've discovered the problem, it is with my models.
I think the tram is too top heavy and need some weight in the bottom to drive more stable.
With my steam engine i've gone too low with the bottom, which isn't a problem on normal track, but on the switches it is.
The gaps in between the rails on the switchtracks might have been a little smaller, that would smoothen the ride out as well i think.

So the Emerald goes over smoothly, or is it a bumpy ride on the switches?
I've found with most of the 9v series that they are too light. The old 12v used a heavier motor and 2 ballast weights which kept the train on the track and helped conductivity with the power rail.
The 9v is okay at slower speeds, but can derail or over-run points. The solution to this is obvious - use the old 12v weights from the old sets - also I've been buying weights from Ebay - and its made a difference.
The worst 9v train is the crocodile, it's a B*&£er, two swivelling ends and light, so there now are weights in both ends - now it goes well.
The only train which doesn't need it is the rc trains - as they have heavy batteries in them and find that it can go full speed round and over bends without derailing - unless you just use the engine - and its too fast anyway!

#5 legotrainfan

legotrainfan

    Posts: 1367
    Joined: 21-January 08
    Member: 2562
    Country: Austria

Posted 14 June 2009 - 09:39 PM

The engine of set 4512 can derail. Don't know if you have it. With this set the light cable leading from the motor to the light brick can be too tight. Just make sure it isn't too tight so that the motor can move more.

I also know this problem with the crocodile engine 4551. As it's been mentioned the too light front and back parts are responsible for derailing. The other locomotives are sometimes not heavy enough if you send them through a switch at full speed. But even on curves they often tilt over if they're too quick due to being too light.

Edited by legotrainfan, 14 June 2009 - 09:41 PM.

[...]
I have spread my dreams under your feet.
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.
From: "He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven" by W.B. Yeats


Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#6 CP5670

CP5670

  • In search of litmus paper


    Posts: 2481
    Joined: 02-February 08
    Member: 2646
    Country: United States

Posted 15 June 2009 - 03:58 AM

Quote

I've found with most of the 9v series that they are too light. The old 12v used a heavier motor and 2 ballast weights which kept the train on the track and helped conductivity with the power rail.
The 9v is okay at slower speeds, but can derail or over-run points. The solution to this is obvious - use the old 12v weights from the old sets - also I've been buying weights from Ebay - and its made a difference.
The worst 9v train is the crocodile, it's a B*&£er, two swivelling ends and light, so there now are weights in both ends - now it goes well.
The only train which doesn't need it is the rc trains - as they have heavy batteries in them and find that it can go full speed round and over bends without derailing - unless you just use the engine - and its too fast anyway!

I might try using the weights on my Metroliner. It generally runs fine but can sometimes derail on high speed turns.

You can still get those weights from Lego Education. I got a bunch of them for Technic models several years ago.

#7 cusaeng

cusaeng

    Posts: 56
    Joined: 26-April 09
    Member: 5902

Posted 05 December 2009 - 03:06 AM

sorry for digging up and old topic but I was looking for some thing else and seen this and and I thought it may come in handy for some one else. I had the same problem with a bunch of 9v points that  I won on an ebay auction and when l looked in tho this a little closer I noticed that it was due to the way the trains were approaching the track.

If you look at the point on the left hand side of this photo http://www.1000stein...ages/4531-1.jpg you would notice that a train approaching from the bottom would need to push the rail to the left to pass by. on the tracks that I had they appeared to move freely but the train musnt have been able to move them out the way. To solve this I used some wd40 on those parts of the track to loosen them up a bit and this seemed to solve the problem without adding extra weights to the train.

:cry_happy:



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users