idlemarvel

Hobby Trains alternative build 16 Bo-Bo e-lok motorized

I'm a beginner with Lego trains.  I've learned a lot from this forum so thank you all.  

This is my first attempt at some "give-back" so I hope I don't mess things up. 

I want to show you how I motorized this loco with PoweredUp but as I can't get the preview to work I will start out with one picture of the completed model prior to modification before I post the rest.

51765925749_88242eee34_c.jpg

More to follow....

Okay that worked so here is the rest.

First thing to note is that the motor block has a longer wheelbase than the bogies on the model, see below:

51766165455_8113588647_c.jpg

So I modified the non-powered bogie to have 3 studs between the wheel pieces rather than two, and added a small embellishment to fill the gap, see below:

51765925794_8dd463a8ea_c.jpg

Then of course the block between the bogies is too wide, because the bogies are now each one stud longer.  So I needed to reduce the block to two wide, see below:

51766165625_a1f719ddfe_c.jpg

I fitted the two bogies, one powered one not, and threaded the motor block cable into the cab.

51766165695_e902338b09_c.jpg

You can perhaps see that the hub (battery box / receiver) will fit in the cab, but one set of inset doors will have to be modified, and some of the bracing struts will have to go.  

51766165695_e902338b09_c.jpg

This is the cab stripped down.  The excess cable has been treaded under the bonnet of the loco.

51766165775_25aeb1b8a5_c.jpg

These are the modified cab sides, retaining the building style but making room for the hub.

51765291206_d107e9d5b4_c.jpg

The rebuilt cab with some modifications to the right hand side to make it easier to remove the roof to get to the on/off switch.  The doors on the right are not recessed but I reversed the transparent brick so the window part is recessed.

51765926224_c70e580575_c.jpg