Brickviller

Lego photography tips

Hi there,

I recently got a Nikon Coolpix P520 as a present. I was very happy, because I still worked with a very old camera before. However when I tried to photograph some of my Lego creations they just looked sort of low quality pictures. Even compared to my old camera they didn't look good, or better. I used daylight, which I normally also used for my old camera and that worked fine. I struggled a little with all the new options, so maybe I did something wrong there. You can see the picture here: http://www.brickshelf.com/gallery/dutch/7939/dscn0069.jpg

So doing some fast research I came across a so called light box, which people use to photograph their Lego or other products. Now my question is wether or not this would fix the issue, or that I did something with the settings of the camera itself.

Edited by Brickviller

Hi Brickviller!

I am a hobbyist photographer myself. I shoot with a DSLR, which is similar to your Coolpix P520, except that a DSLR has the key feature of swappable lenses. Anyway, looking at the Coolpix P520 product page, you should be able to take good photos of Lego creations. A difficult point may be "getting in close" for what are termed "macro shots", basically making a minifigure (for example) look like it's right up close to your face. But that camera will certainly do well for a wide variety of photography. You've got a good amount of zoom there, and I'm sure it can go pretty wide, too.