Hi, new to the forum and to Lego, i am currently making the Bonsai tree kit and was thinking about adding LED lighting as this kit has a base, i was going to fit 2 or 4 color changing LEDs to the base shining up into the tree, i did some googling and found the Lego lighting kits and thought these would be great, however further searching brought me to this forum and to a post asking about the same thing, the guy asked if it was possible to fit a system that didn't req relying on a battery (as i believe is what is in the Lego kits), so my question is can these lighting kits be run on a LED driver (like Christmas tree light, or a USB charger,) i'm by no means any sort of  electronic genius, please bear that in mind in any answers:pir-thumb:   i have had some experience of wiring up LED previously, i used to make model car and truck kits and always added lighting to them, they were always on a 12V system using 480 OHM resisters, so i know nothing about lower or higher voltage sources,

i would like to be able to switch them on in the evening etc  and there is a 240 outlet pretty near the display, thanks for any advice you can give, best regards Ian 

I can't speak for all brands of kits made for Lego, but many (like Light My Bricks) come with a USB plug which you can choose whether you plug it into a battery pack or a power plug for the wall. Just make sure to check how much your LED kit uses so the power brick you buy (they're often not included) is heavy enough for the task. For kits with a lot of LEDs or extra electronics, this can add up.

Hi Thank you for your reply, i'll go with a "light my bricks "  set and see how i get on, i'll post a pic as soon as it's done and i figure how to add a pic, i did try to add a pic of one of the truck kits i added LEDS to bit the file was too big:pir_mad:, regards Ian

On 2/6/2024 at 2:34 PM, Popeye77 said: