Richpepperell

[MOD] [MOC] [WIP] Carbon Freezing Chamber

Like most people I was pretty excited when 75137 Carbon Freezing chamber was first announced. Like most people, I was also pretty disappointed to see the 'finished' set, which looks decidedly unfinished to me. After getting the official set, I started playing around with a few modifications with the bricks I had to hand with a view to extending the set to at least half the octagon.

24114057491_e97ff7b6fd_z.jpg

Although this added to the scene, it was still well below par in my eyes. I was lucky enough to find an eBay seller with two sets available without minifigures. They saving a postage meant that I managed to get the sets for £6.50 each so I was pretty pleased with the bricks I now had to work from... 3 complete sets.

My first effort kept the original (and pointless) lowering mechanism in place, which meant that two hinged sections had to be included. I made the folding sections the segments with the control panel on. I also ditched the lift immediately. With the two control panel segments, it was possible to flip them out and

lower Han, but the segments did not sit totally flush when closed, so I decided they had to go! From the pictures I found, the chamber does have dual control panels, and I also picked up another cheap Ugnaught, so the panels stayed.

25092680625_6717ab3945_z.jpg

The completed octagon now does not open but is massively more sturdy because of it. Completing the octagon drew almost exclusively from pieces included in the 3 x original set, with only a couple of additional pieces (namely a few smaller plates, tiles and a couple of 6054852s). I decided to include a rising staircase - famous as the starting point for the Father-revealing duel - but also included 2 additional staircases as this is one part of the original set that actually looked pretty good.

Some pictures...

24461983724_b5343c3bda_z.jpg

24999367121_616254f09f_z.jpg

24724391899_2155a5db30_n.jpg