Bernie56

I have to ask - Real World Engineers

After just seeing Gioppa, MOC Crane, I have to ask - How many here are real world engineers? The level of detail and mechanical complexity that you folks produce the MOC LEGO stuff makes me wonder.

Edited by Bernie56

After just seeing Gioppa, MOC Crane, I have to ask - How many here are real world engineers? The level of detail and mechanical complexity that you folks produce the MOC LEGO stuff makes me wonder.

I'm an engineer. My first degree is in Electronics and I did an MSc in Safety. I learned most of my mechanical engineering with LEGO!

Real mechanical engineering has a lot more to do with material properties, where LEGO fans usually build with a limited range of materials!

The level of detail applies across topic boundaries.

I also built a Rail Crane, as a scale model of a real one.

With trains I try to make the model work for real, sometimes even more importantly than just how it looks.

I have been able to emulate some real-world hydraulic system operations with LEGO pneumatics

Three of my MOCs have become patent applications for real mechanical things too!

Just shows how good LEGO is as a concept prototyping medium.

Mark

I'm a Mechanical engineer,i work for a packing company,i made the machine for fill bags(concrete,sugar,flour,fertilizer,ABS)and palletizer,and wrapping machine(stretch film wrapper)the machine who made wooden pallet with a pile of bag on it,and cover with plastic film.

I travel in all the world,one costumer is aside of Vestas,and for me is a great emotion when with plane Iwas on the Billund airport....default_laugh_new.gif But i was in march and Legoland was closeddefault_angry.gif .

That was in my Dark age,but in a little piece of my heart someting say LEGOLEGOLEGO!!!

Normally i don't made moc,i don't have the time and the fantasy,i prefere to collect set,build up and keep aside in plastic bag ready for Legofest(in Italy).