Artifex

Do Train Fans Look Down on Harry Potter Trains?

Everybody seems to love the Emerald Night, but to the eyes of a complete newbie train fan-wanna be like me they look similar. But I've never seen anyone even mention the Hogwarts Express as a good train or a good train model. I know there's no engine, so is that waht puts the HE out of the "train game"?

In my opinion...

All 3 versions of Hogwarts Express are in the same category as the Toy Story Train, they were all designed not from the angle of making a good train but rather of making a set that fits into the theme (eitervHP or TS). The effect of this is that as a train they are simplistic.

A good example of this is that while both trains are steam engines neither had the steam pistions that drive the wheels on a real steam engine. Now look at the emerald night, it has the drivers. Granted the few steam locomotives from the 90's are also lacking the steam drivers but those models are from 15 plus years ago not the current era like the emerald night.

I think this is the problem with "theme trains", they are more about the theme and don't really care much about being good trains.

This doesn't mean that I look down on any of them, I just don't see them fitting into my LEGO Train collection.

Edited by kyphur

One of the (many) things I love about the 12v era is that you could build, usually small tank-style, steam engines with the working drive rods that came with the 12v motor set. The lack of that detail on subsequent train sets until the EN was a big disappointment for me. (I did try to build larger steam locos in 12v but never had the larger wheels.) Once I discovered BB wheels my imagination went wild!

The HP and TS trains just don't have the detail, as has been said, and for me were never even close to being on my shopping lists.

Andy

Edited by Andy Glascott