MarkV

Advice on Acquiring Track

I've did electric trains as a kid and got interested in Lego sets after getting one of my old Lionel trains out of storage from my parents. I'm completely new to Lego trains, but I am now the proud owner of a Maersk set and Emerald Night set. Both are still MISB and will remain that way until I get some time this summer. I plan to "PF" both of them and have various parts already for this purpose.

I have other Lego sets, but nothing in the way of train gear - specifically track. I'm looking to set something up that wouldn't be larger than a 4' x 8' - at least I can't see that for some time. My basic lego math says that a 8' straight would require 19 lego straight tracks. So, that's about 57 straight track pieces ignoring curves to cover the outside of a 4'x8' area. That's about 7 boxes of 7499. That seems about where I should start for a single train.

What's the best option for doing track?

I see buying at least two 7895 (switching tracks), maybe 4 initially - obviously will need more track...

I was considering some 4520s since there are complaints about flexitrack and they still seem to be available although I don't see 9v in my future.

Are curved 9v sections a better option than the flexitrack? I am cheap to some extent, but constant derailings eliminate any sense of fun for me.

Is a better way to do this than straight up track purchasing? Many of the sets include track, but I'm paying more for the additional engines and PF parts than the track that is included. Are there any really good values on sets for current shipping product?

Is it a good idea to look at baseplates under the track area? I noted some threads about ballasting track. Still going through those...

Thanks,

Mark