rriggs

Advice for Train Newbie: Power Systems & Motors

Hi

I have had trains for a while now but have only today tried to MOC them. I have tried to add two motors to an engine so it can pull a long train. My motors run in opposite directions.

I have tried looking on here to see how I can overcome this but have only succeeded in confusing myself over what motors I actually have!

My questions therefore are as follows:

1. What are the differences between RC and PF and how do I know what I have?

2. How can I make two motors run in the same direction at the same time from the same remote?

I have only remote control trains:

7898 Deluxe Cargo Train

7897 Passenger Train

7939 Cargo Train

7938 Passenger Train

I have taken the motors from 7939 & 7938 and put them together in an engine but they run as opposites. Can anyone help?

Cheers

Rog

I am no expert on RC versus PF, but I can answer one of your questions...

2. How can I make two motors run in the same direction at the same time from the same remote?

...because I asked the same question here a little while ago.

You'll find several suggestions made by fellow Eurobrickers, but in the end I went with a polarity switch, and it now works just fine :)

Good luck!

Hi Rog!

As fas as I experienced there is no proplem in case of RC-motor, as it is equipped with the old 9V type connector, so you can turn round one of them.

This is the RC-motor: old 9V type connection, no integrated lead, white wheel hubs, weaker than a PF-motor:

http://www.bricklink...tem.asp?P=x1688

x1688.jpg?0

If you want to run your train with two PF-motor - like me - they are two solution, as I experienced:

- as L@go also wrote, you can use the PF polarity switch (simply, but it requires more space in your MOC)

- or simply just turn round one of the PF-motor itself (if you can solve the problem of "front" PF-cable/wire setting considering the curve > you have to spare some space above the RC-