Hi,

I'm tim and i"m new to the forums. I am an avid builder of legos myself, and i have been realizing a trend lately, no one builds stud-full anymore :sad: . All of my MOCs so far have been all or mostly stud-full ( Brickshelf Gallery and youtube: youtube.com/timslegos ), and i have a very hard time building in stud-less. Do you have any advice for learning how to build in stud-less?

thanks

tim

Edited by timr

Hi,

I'm tim and i"m new to the forums. I am an avid builder of legos myself, and i have been realizing a trend lately, no one builds stud-full anymore :sad: . All of my MOCs so far have been all or mostly stud-full ( Brickshelf Gallery and youtube: youtube.com/timslegos ), and i have a very hard time building in stud-less. Do you have any advice for learning how to build in stud-less?

thanks

tim

Well... When I got back out of my dark-age (back to Lego) I bought a few advanced set, and built them to learn new techniques. I would recommend these sets: 8275 Bulldozer, 8043 Excavator and 8070 supercar. Those have a lot of advanced studless building techniques in them, and are great for learning. You may even learn a lot from reading building instructions (I've red almost every instruction available on the official Lego pages).

It may also help a lot to test build things in a CAD software of some kind. I can recommend LDraw and SR3D, but Legos official CAD program, LDD, isn't to bad either. LDD actually has an extended mode that can be activated in a setup file. You can read a lot more of that in the forum, just search for "LDD Extended".

Hope this can help you on your way.

PS: I like your models. Not many still building studed, advanced models on that scale.

-ED-

What you mean "no one"? There are dozen of Technic builders out there who successfully combine studless and studfull systems, like e.g. Andrea Grazi, Eric Leppen or Pedro Agnelo, or me. Exhibit A:

01.jpg

no one builds stud-full anymore

That's because studless is vastly superior.