stelek

Lego 7597 Toy Story Train with RC/PF

Hi all,

I've searched the forums but I could not find any detailed answer. I'm fairly new to Lego Trains but I decided to buy and motorize the Toy Story train. Four BrickLink orders later I had all the needed parts and started building. I put the battery box and the IR receiver into my custom built tender and I replaced the "big wheels holder" of the locomotive with RC train motor. It all seemed to work well at first...

...until I noticed that the train was derailing very frequently and had a lot of problems passing switches:

I watched the train very closely and I noticed that the big wheels did not touch the rails very well but I could not figure out the reason. I was going to give up and put the train back onto a shelf. And then I saw it - attaching the big wheels to the RC train motor placed the coupler higher (exactly two plates higher) than the standard height. The coupler of the tender was lower (standard height) and was pulling the motor down which was raising the front big wheels and derailing the train.

So I modified the tender - the front coupler (next to the locomotive) is now two plates higher than the back coupler (where I attach the train cars) and... the problem is gone. The train does not derail without a reason. But unfortunately this introduced two new problems:

1) The tender looks strange. Not only the front and back couplers are at different heights but also the body of the tender is simply too high (compared to other cars). This does not look natural.

2) The tender is heavy (batteries!) and this modification moved the center of weight higher. The whole train derails on curves much easier than my 7938 Passenger Train.