Sign in to follow this  
SlyOwl

Elliecopter

indexed.gif

Here's my entry for the Reasonably Clever Steampunk Impulse Contest.

Well, I've never done Steampunk before, so be nice to me *sweet*

I decided to use the elephant head piece for more than an elephant head piece, so I used it as the body for the Elliecopter, hence the name X-D

dscn4217.jpg

Another view:

dscn4218.jpg

And the back, with a gauge for the boiler and exhausts:

dscn4219.jpg

Side view...

dscn4220.jpg

Front...

dscn4221.jpg

The pilot...I tried to steer him a little towards mechanic and away from crazy inventor...

dscn4222.jpg

The parts, all 48 of them (contest maximum was 50)...

dscn4223.jpg

You like? :-)

Very good for your first steampunk Slyowl, I really like the way you've incorporated the elephant's headpiece. I love the mechanic pilot too, and the machine as a whole looks very nice. However, I do not like the engine sorry to say, it looks more like a mess of parts than a cohesive structure, and it seems a lot of it is made out of strange pieces just for the sake of ingenuity. I love your style and techniques, but I think it is overdone here, the engine to me just looks more like a pile of tin. Thats not to say this isn't great, I could only aspire to be half as good as this, I just want to see a design that is a bit more structural and more engine-like :-)

Overall a very cool vehicle though, I wish you luck in the competition.

To the Bricksignal! >:-)

Wow, nice for your first! There so much detail crammed into there! And the use of the elephant head as the main body of the craft is, well, resonably clever. ;-) I like the use of the plumes as smoke, too. Great job, and good luck in the contest! *sweet*

I will say, however, I'm not too fond of the torso. Much to futuristic, IMO. I would suggest a suit for steam-punk, but if you want a mechanic look, i'm sure the new Ep. I Naboo Fighter Pilot would work. *y*