Hi all, I'd like to share my first MOC, a Claas Xerion 5000 TRAC VC. It's been several years since I came out of my dark ages and ever since I've been wanting to build this particular tractor.

It looks like this:

dsc_1740.jpg

The MOC has been close to completion for many weeks and I've been worried that someone might get inspired by the 2016 speculation topic and present a Xerion before I could finish. Well, a few days ago JBTechnic did just that without even having seen that topic. Grr... :wink:

My model features

-RC via IR

-4 wheel drive and steering (1 XL + 2 servo)

-Cabin lift and rotation

-Back PTO and linkage

-2-in-4-out switching gear box

-Crab steering mode (manually switchable)

-Front pendular suspension

Getting all those features packed into a narrow tractor is hard, especially since I have little MOC experience. So the project has been long running and I've had to learn designing in MLCad, collecting parts on Bricklink/BrickOwl as well as the actual tractor design and modeling.

Sadly, the model is not a complete success. The decision to put the IR receivers in the cabin has caused me a lot of grief and rebuilding. First, I had to buy additional extension wires and I have struggled to find space for them. Worse, the wires are both heavy and rigid which causes trouble when lifting and turning the cabin. Second, I'm not thrilled by the look of the front. JBTechnic did a great job with that in his model.

The gear box is located at the center. It is based on Sariel's gear box. I thought doing this was really clever and I needed 4 functions (lift, rotation, PTO, linkage). In reality, the gear box is rather large and it would have been far easier to find the space for 2 extra motors and an extra IR receiver. But it does work really well as long as its braced properly (and no wires get in the way).

dsc_1767.jpg