The Kumquat Alchemist

Best Bulbs for a Primitive Photography Setup?

Disclaimer: I have no experience with professional photography, and use an awful camera.

Hello, Eurobricks! Today I have come across an issue setting up a proper photography area, relating to the bulbs I use in my two lamps:

15015086303_9eb9a8d0c2_o.jpg

Standard filament or fluorescent bulbs give my photographs horrible yellow tinge; this happens regardless of how the two lamps are positioned, or what other light sources there are in the room.

Would daylight bulbs work better? LEDs? Halogen? Is it even possible to take decent photographs in such a setting, even if I were to get better bulbs?

Edited by The Kumquat Alchemist

Doesn't really matter what kind of bulbs you use as long as you set the white balance setting in your camera to match. (Or you can fix it yourself in a photo editing program later, but it's more work.) The big thing you should avoid is having different kind of lights in the same photo. There is no easy way to make mixed-light photos look good.

Personally I like overcast days for photography, because it gives me good photos with a minimum of work. When such conditions aren't available I use a couple of halogen light bulbs and set the white balance setting to 2700 K. The colours are just as good in those photos, but positioning the lamps to avoid hard shadows and reflections takes more time.

whs^ The yellow tint is due to white balance. try setting it to "incandescent" or "tungsten" it is sometimes called. It is quite hard to get it perfect even if you adjust it to your lights, I find it always takes a bit of post-adjustment. Easy if you have the ability to take photos in RAW format, the adjustment is usually called "temperature", depending on your camera make/ raw format.