Szubi

[MOC] Virtual - 4561 upgrade to locomotive and Club Car

Hi!

My friend and I have been debating for years now on the design of late 1990s LEGO and trains in particular.

The debate usually touched upon the 4560/4561, how akward it was in the engine department and how it was never going to be on our collector radars.

One day though, I got a decent deal on a couple of trains, including 4561 so I pulled the trigger and a few missing pieces later I started putting the train together and started appreciating the design that went into it.

It isn't half bad!

What still irks me despite my new affection for it is

1. how short the locomotive is and

2. how it 'jitters' down the track under the load of two rather heavy cars.

So I thought to myself, why not modify the engine to look a little more decent? Of course, I had the following assumptions:

1. Make it like LEGO would (even though I'm no designer after 25 years of dark ages).

2. Use only period available pieces.

3. Make it more realistic.

4. Maintain the entire engine as original as possible and add only behind the two columns/rows of 1x2 Fluted bricks.

This is what I have come up with so far:

4561plus A4561plus B4561plus D

I apologize for the crudeness of the pictures and the design.

I know it is akward whatever I do to it, but I'm wondering, what are YOUR thoughts?

What would YOU do to make it better, more like something that LEGO would release that year after a little more design effort?

As a bonus, I had a go at creating a Club Car, inspired by the famous 4547.
Same question: How would YOU modify it?

4561plus C4561plus E

Roast me :D

These both look good to me! My stepdad bought two of the original set back in the late nineties, and much of my childhood was spent trying to make them better to no avail. You have succeeded at a very difficult task indeed, and wonderfully so.

I tip my hat to you for a job well done! :thumbup: