Sign in to follow this  
BananaBrick01

LEGO Train Tunnel Idea - Suggestions and support

Hi all - this is my first time posting in the Train Tech forum, so hopefully I get things right :)

I am really interested in any suggestions and support on my train tunnel project on LEGO Ideas (Old Hill Train Tunnel) - I would really like there to be an official LEGO train tunnel, and I am trying to get the overall parameters and design right - so I am coming to the experts :)

https://ideas.lego.com/projects/b86fc97f-c793-4d15-81f3-8ebef34139b3

51851949443_dba8c476cc_c.jpgOld Hill Train Tunnel by BananaBrick01, on Flickr

My objectives so far have been:

- make sure the tunnel is wide enough for Emerald Night to enter and tall enough for 7725 to enter without removing its pantographs;

- have removeable roof panels so trains can be seen through the roof, and the inside of the tunnel accessed;

- have open areas on some sides (caves, waterfalls, etc.) so there is also some visibility of the trains passing through the tunnel on the side view;

- have a hinge functionality so the tunnel can work either as two tunnels side by side or one long tunnel (similar to the functionality of Train Shed model 10027);

- have enough play-focused features so it is an interesting set for all ages, whether or not attached to a wider track; and

- not to panel the sleepers with flat brown tiles, which pushes up the piece count, and noting this isn’t something that LEGO tends to do on official sets (even if it can look nice in the right setting).

Am I missing anything here (or does anyone disagree with these parameters)? Any suggestions or support very welcome.

Thanks everyone for your time :)

DD4A3390-E0D1-428D-8BD6-EA1B6CF4BFC4.jpeg

Edited by BananaBrick01
To add embedded photo from Flickr

26 minutes ago, JaBaCaDaBra said:

Will the Croc fit (10277)
This massive loc was designed for tunnels.

Hi JaBaCaDaBra - that’s a really good question! :)