nerdsforprez

[MOC] Greeble wall in Lego Room

Usually I am a Technic builder but as can be seen in my signature block, I have dabbled in other areas as well.  Specifically, as well as Technic, I have always loved Sci-Fi ships and greeblies, as my "Tribute to Greeblies" project can attest.  

Well this past year I completed my Lego Room.  The closest room to the entrance looks like this: 

20210710_180135

Cropper and zoomed in to give a better idea: 

20210710_180135_edit

I would like to plate this whole wall with a Sci-Fi look.  I am not sure exactly how to word it, but like the armor plating of a spaceship or base, inside of a hangar bay or something.  There will be some greebling, but I would like it a bit more structured, with better flow and less random than my "Tribute" project above.  Few things I am learning: 

Depth is important.  I began only two studs deep and realized I had more to work with.  When I say "more" I don't want the Lego portion of the wall to extend past the moulding of the door frames.  But luckily for me, I can go three studs deep without extending past the moulding, so I changed that. Depth allows for more contrast and embedded details.  More 3D.  Wish I could go four, but then I violate the "extending beyond the frames limit" I set for myself.  So that is out.  

I want to strike a good balance between not being too busy, but not being too boring or block-y either.  My "Tribute" project was meant to be random, unstructured, more of an artistic piece than what I am striving here for, which is something much more functional and realistic, though still in the Sci Fi genre.  So far, I like what I have achieved.   

Here are a few pictures for reference. 

Too random, unstructured, but still something:

40354f6d1d4a21635cfba01d63ef0163