Szubi

Deck separation from hull

This is my first post on this site, so hello everyone!

I’m Szubi and I’m an architect coming out of my long lego dark ages... yay! :)

And I come looking for help. 

Quick context;

Seeing some of the successes I’ve been having with retrobrighting recently bought vintage sets, my friend has asked me to retrobright a ship hull deck for him. Whereas the police boat 4010 was easy as it only needed pouring hydrogen peroxide into the hull to cover the deck, his fire boat 4031 is difficult in that it is a stepped deck design, it is much larger and it’s… red.
A color which will be affected by hydrogen peroxide, unlike the black hull of 4010. So, pouring hydrogen peroxide into the hull as well as partial submersion are really out of the question… I think.

Here’s the Question;

Has anyone attempted separating the gray decks from the hull?

It seems to be either glued in or snap-locked in. I’m really hoping that it is only snap-locked. 

I tried delicately prying the hull sides being very careful not to damage the hull or give it stress marks, to see the fixing method, but can’t see anything.

Thanks in advance for any input!

I am not fully sure as I don't have that set, but I know newer hulls are just snap locked and come apart easily. Some old pirate set hulls were screwed together but from what I have seen of the part you are referring to those hulls are not screwed. 

I would suggest getting a red brick from the set and submerging it in hydrogen peroxide first, to see if it does actually impact it and if it does to what extent. If it doesn't impact it too badly, you may be able to submerge the hull.

You could use a solution like Maskol to cover the parts of the hull that are visible and will come into contact with hydrogen peroxide to protect it when it is being retrobrighted

Edited by Stuartn

Definitely no screws there... I really do wish it was that easy though.