Sign in to follow this  
Kostq

Color choices in Technic official sets

As an apprentice moc designer I'm always wondering:

How does LEGO choose a color scheme for official Technic sets?

I've noticed the Yellow construction sub-theme and the white aerial /planes, gyros, hellies/ one. Also the seats are almost always blue everywhere.

Is there a set of standards for such stuff?

Just had to ask this.

The biggest limit is the available parts. As fun as it would be; designers can’t just use any part in any color. There’s an active parts palette, with parts that are currently used in sets. These can be used freely. 

If a designer wants to use additional parts in new colors, they are limited to a certain “budget” of new parts. These budgets can vary; licensed sets can have a bigger budget since the licensing party may insist on a certain color.

So, unless marketing insists on a specific color, models typically rely on existing parts with a few new added if the budget allows.

Which is also how the color palette evolves. If there was a big orange set last year, odds are good a new model will take advantage of these parts. That new model may only need a few new parts, instead of introducing a completely new color

This also explains common colors like blue chairs; if you already have that part in that color, why produce a new one?

Well, you're going to get many opinions about this one. Here are some other thoughts

1. Most construction machinery is yellow/orange. This is done to increase contrast and safety on job sites.

2. Most planes start white/metallic ... if you ignore the SR71 and other military aircrafts

3. TLG often introduces parts in new colors to boost sales - Call it a conspiracy theory, or better yet a 'tactic' to increase sales.

4. Over the years, TLG must introduce new colors, or else, what is the novelty (i.i. sales) between supercars from year to year?