Hi all,

i'm working on a motorized technic sky chairs and it's my first project with Technic. I've build most of it but i have some troubles that stopped my work.

Here's some photos of my setup:

https://ibb.co/TmXXbR3
https://ibb.co/VCmVLhH
https://ibb.co/BzhRZQd

Problems:

1. Cable slipping and cable's attach to sky chair. The best solution i've found is in the photos but sometimes the cable exit from the wheels or when the chair turn back, it drops down.

The chair is not very stable with this solution.

2. Traction: even if i used a rubber band around the big wheel, the cable continues to slip sometimes.

For the cable i use this:

Dark Bluish Gray
String, Cord Medium Thickness 300cm

Part No: x77cc300

and for the big wheels i use these:

Dark Bluish Gray
Wheel 75mm D. x 17mm Motorcycle

Part No: 88517

I also check this topic for any advices but whithout results:

Can you help me?

Thank you very much

Regards,

Alessio

Edited by RazerTDI

Hi,

I like what you are trying to do. The real sky chairs (or sky lifts) have a system that moves it along the rope, it has it's own clamping system. there is a video on youtube called the LPA grip that explains the system. Your chair is fixed to the rope whereas the real system moves along the rope. Fixing it to the rope comes with obvious issues. I wish you luck in your project.

H

Edited by Lakop

A lot of the answers you're looking for are here, I think:

That is:

A ski lift (that's how we call them here in Switzerland) uses a cable under tension. You'll either need heavy weights or a strong structure to hold both stations in place. Luckily, your setup should allow for a decent Technic superstructure under the white plates figuring the snow slope. By increasing the tension, you'll reduce the slip on the driven wheel.