For a while now I had the idea to make a MOC of a mine flail, or in more technical terms an Area Mine Clearing System. There are many models, and one in particular that appealed to me is the Aardvark AMCS, as presented for example in here: http://www.aardvarkclearmine.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/ACMS-Brochure_HR_Single_Pages.pdf

I had previously made a few tablescraps and bought the parts I need for the flails, but never got further than that until I saw the new contest, which, I believe is the perfect excuse to actually get the MOC finished, so here I am.

I'm not an experienced builder (exiting my dark ages only about year ago) and I'm still a novice with studless construction, with limited parts selection so I don't expect to win the contest or anything, but I hope I can gain some new insights on how to build with studless system and maybe some good advice. I might even write up something akin to a storyline to accommodate the build when it's at least somewhat complete.

Here's what I've finished so far, the drivetrain for the flail spinner is mechanically complete, though it could use some aesthetic touch. I have previously tested that it spins fast enough, but I'll have to build a some sort of chassis before proper testing. I also spent a while trying to make a nice imitation of the tracks of the real vehicle and while it needs adjusting, it'll be something along the lines of my test build.

wip1.jpg

A closeup on the flail construction:

wip2.jpg