Dovakkhiin

NEED ADVICE on printing custom Figure Decals

Hello there People !

Long story short i am just starting to customize my figures with printed decals and im having problems with the quality of the prints, they are not detailed and the colours arent right, so about my printer : to be honest its not mine but of my parents, its an hp color laserjet CP1215 (printing resolution 600x600 dpi) I assume i need a printer with much higher resolution and with more colours then 3 ? Should i get a Photo Printer ? Because photo printers are pretty cheap for the resolution they offer, well as you can see im a noob and i need your help guys hahahah. I hope someone can help me out and have a great day !

Best regards, 

Dovakkhiin :P

Welcome to EB, Dovakkhiin!

There's a lot of variables to talk about when it comes to custom printing decals, but that color laser printer should work fine, at least as a starting point.  My guess would be that the decals themselves are not using the right color space for matching the colors to Lego colors (RGB vs CYMK), and that the graphics are not vector-based or otherwise high enough resolution to be scaled and printed properly.

Take a look at some of the topics here for inspiration and how-tos:

Hi there deraven !

First of all, thx for welcoming me to EB ! Im pretty frustrated with the resolutions of that printer to be honest it just dont looks good ma hahahah , what printer would be a good level up for decal printing ? there are photo printers available on canon for about 150 Euros/Dollars with a color palette of  6 colors and 4800 x 1200 dpi for the resolution. Would you recommend getting such a printer for decal printing ? Yeah the color problem is probably because i dont use the right color space. I know its kinda nooby but i made my decal on Paint, is it bad to do that on paint because its a raster and not a vector ?