TheItalianBrick

Something you don't know about the LandRover Defender 42110.....

I love Lego, who doesn't after all! 

And easy to say each of us has, at least once, dreamt of designing an official Lego set.  I work for JLR, JaguarLandRover and I'm a car designer (the real deal!) but I'm also a huge Lego fan and technic builder since the age of 3.   

A while back my design director, knowing I am a Lego fan, asked me if I wanted to support a special project, collaborating with Lego. I wasn't sure of what I would be working on but since it involved Lego I did accept the work without hesitation.  Working on the real Defender is already a privilege, but working on a Lego version of it was a dream coming true! My role was to help Samuel and Milan (Lego Technic designers) with getting the proportions of the car right. They were fantastic while working around it and it was very inspiring for me to meet them in person. They even complimented my Lego Hyster Forklift.  I'm not an official Lego designer by any mean, but I know there is a bit of me in that set indeed....

Hope you enjoy them both, real and Lego version of it! 

443aa366-2020-land-rover-defender-lego-technic-1.jpg.bb8a4c107a5b9a54edea0618e6653a0d.jpg

Congrats, I think the model looks great and captures the look and functions of the real thing well

I keep on dropping hints at my work about building an official Lego model of one of our cars I’m still praying one day it happens.

Very well done! This set quickly turned into one of my favourite sets, and IMO it might be the best "Lego supercar" to date.

45 minutes ago, Mechbuilds said:

I just can't get over the coffin on top of the model.. Wish lego would remove it. 

Just take it off after you build it? I plan on taking off the weirdo side storage box as well

Just now, Zerobricks said:

Very well done! This set quickly turned into one of my favourite sets, and IMO it might be the best "Lego supercar" to date.