benredstar

Help needed: Following a sequence from an external file

Hello all

I'm new to Mindstorms and I am trying to figure out whether the system will let me do something before I leap in. Here's a sketch of what I want to do, in the hope someone can help me.

Is it possible to use Mindstorms to instruct a motor to follow a sequence of events it reads from an external file? E.g. -

• perform 10 rotations over 10 seconds
  • perform 12 rotations over 10 seconds
  • perform 18 rotations over 10 seconds
  • perform 20 rotations over 10 seconds
  • and so on and so on, potentially for hundreds of lines

The goal here is to build a machine that can follow very precise programmed sequences. The data that drives that would have to be held in external files (probably just text files, or some sort of database) rather than constructing it in the Mindstorms app from potentially hundreds of blocks.

Thanks in advance!

/ben

Which programming language do you use? X3 has the ability to read files. They are in a table format (and I think that they are read as arrays).

24 minutes ago, Tcm0 said:

Which programming language do you use? X3 has the ability to read files. They are in a table format (and I think that they are read as arrays).

I'm not using any language. I'm just trying to figure out how do-able this is. I'll look at X3...

/ben

image.png.65b166734e61cfaa4ef88a430fba7059.png

It should work more or less like that. There is no "move X rotations for X seconds" so you would have to calculate the speed from that.

I'm not sure about the order the values get read/ written so you might have to write them from last to first.

8 hours ago, Tcm0 said:

image.png.65b166734e61cfaa4ef88a430fba7059.png

It should work more or less like that. There is no "move X rotations for X seconds" so you would have to calculate the speed from that.

I'm not sure about the order the values get read/ written so you might have to write them from last to first.