sed6

MOCer's will you buy the new train sets?

I cut my teeth on 60051and 60052 just this past fall so I'm new to Lego trains. I had been eagerly awaiting Legos new train releases this spring or summer but now not so much. In the past few months I've designed and built many of my own engines and cars and with each new one I make the desire to buy one of Legos new sets diminishes. Don't get me wrong, I still want to support Lego and do want to try out their new PF offerings, but as I become more and more experienced at creating my own the desire to buy a complete train set lessens. What say you all, will you experienced MOCer's buy the new sets?

My answer is: No

I hoped Lego would bring back the light blueish grey axle holder or other nice train parts. Since that's not the case I don't buy the new train sets (unless there's some really good offer somewhere:wink:) I like to buy only the parts I need for my MOCs and using the train sets as parts pack isn't an option for me because of the points I said before. Also I would get 16 extra curves which I don't need.

Nope.

I think you’re going through the same process I went through. The more I visualise, design and build the less I wish to buy TLG’s official offerings. Surely the whole point of LEGO is that you can build whatever your mind can imagine.

Nope. I'll buy the Power Functions bits and track to support tlg, but the sets don't appeal to me anymore. I'd rather moc things that I want to and make them as realistic as possible. 

I was tempted by the Maersk set though...

@CrispyBassist Same here! i just want to fiddle around with the PF2 components already! It would be great if Lego released a promo video that showcases the PF2 components and any/all new features therein. What still baffles me is how TLG managed to make a worse-looking wave of trains when compared to the last two.