Sign in to follow this  
merc

[OL - FB] Rhodos

So this is my first attempt at  ship. 

Name: Rhodos

Class: 2

38026050736_0a418c68e7_c.jpgRhodos by Mike Mercado, on Flickr

This ship has been fitted more for cargo and as such has forgone the typical cannon associated with a gunboat.

As my first ship I welcome any C and C

Mike

For a firts trial, this is a honest class 1 ship !

The hull is pretty good, even if a little bit bulky... would have gain in "lightness" if partially "hollowed"

A nice first attempt (mine was hugely worse)

A bit C&C since you asked:

The hull is a bit tall I think (expect at least half of it to stay below water level when at sea) so if you want to present it that way, you can lower the whole hull by one brick height (or partially sink your ship in a handful of 1x1 round plates. 

Regarding sails, I found every ship a bit more appealing if it has some forms of sail, even a paper one (and even rolled up, in a secure position, on  the mast) You should try it one day as it vastly improves appearance imo.

That's all from me and I would like to wish you a pleasant staying once more.

Overall, you have a nice looking ship! I like the color scheme too. If I were to change one thing, I'd move the mast forward some.

This a nice first ship.

I would have made a longer and thinner bowsprit and probably add some sails. Like Blackdeathgr I find ships more appealing with sails, even if paper sails.

A little comment on the hull : I find it a little bit bulky. Try to make some curves on your hull that makes then more realistic and helps to have a sleek aspect on the entire boat.

all in all it is a nice class 1 ship and welcome aboard ! You've already have an apple on board ! Good job !

A good attempt for you first boat. :thumbup: