FTG Prime

[MOC] YT-2001 - S 04 Light Freighter "Night Shadow"

Hello everyone,

When the Rebrick contest was announced i was very excited to enter, more so because you get to design your own YT design, a day or so after the contest went up i started drawing my concepts.

(WARNING !!: Creppy drawings incoming !)

37322089852_6696305132.jpg

As you can see the final design it's basiclly a rotated Falcon design, the docking tube is now on the back, instead of having two it has one with the cockpit on it, i moved the engines and added two more and so on. Now i had to build it... and that's were the fun began ! So i proudly present you *drums play* the Night Shadow.

37321705402_d43c812f09_b.jpg

And here's a crappy description of it:

Equipped with a dual new generation SRB45 sublight engine & 2 ion engines: "She's so fast you won't be able to see her shadow". With heavy canons and turrets she has more that your avarage light freighter.

Here are some fun facts about the model

-This build was heavily inspired by the brilliant new UCS Falcon and Marshall Banana's legendary MOC, since they're the ultimate renditions of the YT-1300 in my opinion, it only made sense to me to base this model after those, plus it gives it the messy Corellian Freighter look i was going for.

- I went for a UCS/minifig scale to add as much detail as possible.

-I came up with the design after 3 attemps (as seen on the drawings), it was inspired by the YV-560, YT-1300, YT-2400, The Phantom and a hamburger.

-The model (YT-2001) and it's service tag (S-04) are a reference to the birth date and name of someone really important to me

-I wanted to give it the kitbashed look that the Falcon has, since they used that technique on the actual prop, i used a variety of pieces for this, from tiles to minifig accesories, have fun looking at the greebling !
-It took me about 3 weeks to finish this ship, from the concept art to the final renders.