Sign in to follow this  
teos

Help understanding motors & functions

I have an idea for my battle bot, though I'm new to power functions and how motors can achieve them.  Is it possible for one motor to control more than one function via the remote/receiver?  If so, does anyone know of a set where I could see an example of how this is achieved?  I have limited space within my bot and it would be better if I could do everything else with only one more more.  Thanks!

Building tips and advice are always welcome.

You would need a gearbox to accomplish what you want.  One motor and as many functions as you want.  But, you would need another motor to change the gear since the contest is all remote control.  

Hope that helps.

8043 is the only official set I can think of that uses remote control to switch functions.  The gearbox takes up more space than the motors do so if space is the problem you are probably better off just using motors directly.

I have made a mechanical sequencer that will allow you to use one motor to control two functions in sequence. It can be reversed at any time, and will revers the functions from wherever they are in the sequence. The motor will reverse the sequence from whatever point you reverse the motor. The only challenge is that the mechanism has a fair bit of resistance, taking a good part of the motors power. The thread has suggestions for other more compact designs as well.

If you only need the motor to work in one direction on each function there are simple "gravity" latches that will allow the motor to switch between functions by changing directions.