Sign in to follow this  
Lyichir

What type of train would be best for Lego Friends?

I was recently thinking about MOCing something in the Lego Friends theme, and realized that in all the sets we've gotten in that theme one thing that's never been included is a train. Unfortunately, I'm far from an expert on trains and thought you good people in the trains subforum might be able to help direct me to some real-world locomotives or passenger cars that might provide inspiration. Here are some of the parameters I'm looking for:

• A passenger train, not a freight train. The main Lego Friends characters certainly aren't old enough to be driving a train so it has to be something they could ride.
  • Something somewhat luxurious. I'm picturing something you would WANT to ride for the experience of it, not just something that would only take you from point A to point B. However, at the same time I'd like to avoid anything that could only be ridden by the richest of the rich. Mainly I'd like something relatively roomy with plenty of creature comforts.
  • Something relatively modern. I'm willing to waver on this a bit but ideally I'd want it to be a sort of train that would be in regular use in the modern day, not something you'd only find in railroad museums. On the other hand, I don't necessarily want something futuristic, that only exists in concepts.
  • Something that fits the Lego Friends design language. This is a tricky one. Friends vehicles tend to be a bit "bubblier" than City ones, for lack of a better word—they often use more curves, and place more emphasis on interior comfor than on a streamlined or realistically scaled exterior. What I'm not looking for is something overwhelmingly pink—Friends color schemes are often more muted than people give them credit for, and while I wouldn't mind some examples of trains that opt for subtle pastels over bold primary and secondary colors, in general color is not my primary consideration.