Lapidem

How to recognize BrickLink color of a Lego element

Hello

I'm still very new in the Lego hobby as an AFOL, so please do not be too strict if my question is for a "professional" banal or sounds stupid.
:wacko:

How do I clearly recognize the right Bricklinks color name of a Lego element that I have in fact as an object in front of me?

The fact is that the color perception depends on the light with which an object is illuminated and thus one and the same color can look different.

In addition, the colors of bricklinks also display at a self-luminous monitor, which makes a safe color comparison with an illuminated object even more difficult.

Unfortunately, without a color-calibrated printer and paper, printouts are also not  suitable for performing reliable color comparisons.

So how do you know which Bricklink exact color the Legobrick has in front of you?
Only by long 
experiences and/or comparing with stones whose exact color you know for sure?
But there are so many Bricklink colors, how to get reliable
reference sample , especially as a beginner of every "challenging" color?

Lapidem

P.S.
I have written this text with the help of the Google translator , please apologize if the text should sound odd for a native speaker 
:blush:

Edited by Lapidem

Hi Lapidem,

Welcome to EB!

So how do you know which Bricklink exact color the Legobrick has in front of you?

This is a very good question.  There is no simple answer here.

Only by long  experiences and/or comparing with stones whose exact color you know for sure?

Yes this helps quite a bit but still fails the rest of us when LEGO introduces a new color.  I currently use Peeron's color chart list to map color names from different sites:  http://peeron.com/inv/colors

I just noticed they also have an "official" LEGO color chart that also lists Pantone, CMYK and RGB color codes: http://peeron.com/cgi-bin/invcgis/colorguide.cgi