legoman666

Western Maryland SD40 in 7 wide

Greetings. My latest build which I have been dragging my feet on for several months. Still need 1 or 2 small Bricklink orders to complete the railings and then it should be done.

twCYHjXl.jpgHXpRk8Dl.jpg

The prototype.

29736739646_a659636a49_b.jpg

29736748016_f5a6f2796f_b.jpg

29736735376_7255beebdd_b.jpg

Unfortunately, 'bar holder with clip' is not available in red, so I can't make the railings as prototypical as I'd like. I might switch these out to black but I think dark grey looks ok, although if they ever become available in red, then I'll obviously replace them. I know my lettering is over the red instead of the white, but when I was building up from the base, it looked weird with one less row of red brick. Plus it would have made the hood tricky. Decals are custom printed.

This unit is powered by NWSL steel wheels that pick up 24V track power to feed a super capacitor bank. The unit can go for about 30ish seconds without track power and can recharge in about 15 seconds. No batteries. It's all controlled by Codefox's bluetooth motor controller which is powering 2 L motors.

For the train nerds, you might notice that my porches are each 1 stud shorter than the ones on my Chessie SD40-2. This gives an overall length of 52 studs from magnet to magnet.

This is really great train with a lot of interesting details. I like the cabin windows a lot, and also the fact that is 7-wide. Thanx for sharing, many inspiration here... :)

Max

This looks awesome! I definitely like the cab design on this and your other standard cab locomotives.

Any reason you left out the step ~halfway down the long hood?

Ummmm I forgot it, guess I need to add it :) Thought it looked weird when I was putting the railings on... I never could find a photo of the right side of the locomotive but I guess I could find one with different heraldry.

Thanks guys!