tnmears

[WIP] C&O Heavy Pacific

EDIT: Yes, I somehow jacked up the title it should read "[WIP] C&O Heavy Pacific"

In the early Twentieth Century, the Chesapeake & Ohio used a fleet of Pacific 4-6-2s to haul some of its passenger trains.

http://mrr.trains.co...RRNP0214_39.jpg

http://s3.amazonaws....-11128_4081.jpg

I have been working on and off on this one for several years now. This is not continuously, mind you.

I would say I am about 75% done with this.

The tender is a placeholder as I would like to build a better normal one or the more accurate Vanderbilt tender that the prototype comes with. However, I am trying to think how to properly do the tank portion as I currently use the tender to power it with 9V motors and have the tender filled with weights for better traction.

001.png

002.png

003.png

004.png

Things I'm trying to sort out

• The under the smokebox shape. It's complicated because of the way the cylinders attach.
  • I want to replace the brick built cylinders with technic liftarm based ones as the currents ones have a habit of randomly exploding whilst running...
  • Sorting out the greebling, namely above the drivers.
  • Giving the cab an interior.

It seems to run well around stock curves although the cylinders have to be realigned after awhile of running.

Edited by tnmears

Pro Tip: I'd look into changing the topic's title. I was about ready to report the article as spam at first glance, and I know others will too.

Other than that, I think you've got a good start with this! :thumbup: It's certainly an interesting prototype you're working with, and I think you've got quite a few of the aspects down, particularly the front of the engine.

I can't seem to be able to edit it. *huh*

I somehow pasted a reference link into the title...

EDIT: thanks to whoever changed it!

Edited by tnmears