ttoks

What do you do for a living?

Something that I always find interesting about LEGO, is that it seems to bring people from all walk's of life together, I often wonder what other's on here do to pay for this fantastic hobby of ours, so i thought to start this topic.

So I am 24 year's old and married with one beautiful daughter (13 months old) living in the state of Victoria in Australia, I've just recently gotten back into lego after about 12-13 year's.

I'm a Boilermaker by trade, I started my apprenticeship at age 15, and completed iit just after my 18th birthday, around the same time i met my now wife.

from that start I've progressed through to working as a coded pipe welder in the oil and gas industry, so far it's taken me far around my country, I make a good wage to support my family, but I often work very long hours in extremely unpleasant conditions, in fact in January of next year I will be starting a job near Onslow Western Australia (if anyone is familiar, it is HOT there) working a 4 to 1 fly in fly out roster, so I will spend 4 weeks living in a company supplied camp in the middle of no where, then 1 week at home with my family.

Here's a few photo's of what i do for a living, some of them are of my father, as we often work together (we are both pipe welders)

CAM00739_zpsigprmeho.jpg

CAM00741_zpswgnqnn4b.jpg

CAM00747_zpszxgcbgaj.jpg

CAM00730_zpsvjcpy8hi.jpg

so what do you do for a living?

Edited by ttoks

Right now a horticulture tech (working in garden/greenhouses), but it's not much of a living. I'm trained as a Geoscientist, however the oil+gas and minerals industries are garbage right now. I'm applying to do another master's degree, this time in Public Administration, so that I can get a government job in a year and start getting paid well. *sigh*.

Edited by Iria

I'm actually driving things like this

post-152200-0-59123600-1451680606_thumb.jpg

and this

post-152200-0-68122900-1451680521_thumb.jpg