Vee

How durable are rubber bands?

I bought the set 42001 because it has some interesting Technic parts, like four 5M thin liftarms and others, and it is a cheap set, and I have just finished assembling it. What a cute little vehicle! Although I bought it for parts, I don't see myself disassembling it... dang!

Anyway, this set uses two white rubber/elastic bands (belts) and these rubber bands are essential to the build. Without them, the vehicle will simply not work.

So my question is: given how essential the rubber bands are, are they durable? Usually anything made of rubber will dry and break, and it doesn't take too long for that to happen, so is it durable? I have zero experience with this kind of Lego parts, first time I have a set that uses them.

If these bands are the small round white ones, I have a handful of those, some since i believe 2007, and still in good shape. The newer bands are much more durable than the old black ones.

Yes, they are small, round and white. Good to know they should last a long time. Thanks.

They are fairly high quality rubber bands, but they are still rubber bands and will behave as such. They will eventually dry crack and break. When that happens simply replace them. They're rubber bands. It's not like Lego actually makes them. Just from looking at the ones that come it looks like Lego does use high quality bands, not unlike those found in medical and dental use, and not the simple cheap ones you get in the stationary aisle.