jerewrig

Newbie- Track Design

Hi Everyone. I'm very new to Lego trains. I've read through several sites and forums and seem to be getting mixed answers. Basically I would like to know what the recommended design program is for basic tracks that will potentially include a parts list and an option to buy. LDD + Bricklinks appears to be close, but I would like to import the 7939 track design plus the 10128 Train Level Crossing, maybe add a bridge

and then add on to that. Is that doable? Thanks

I'm in the same boat. http://www.brickpile.com/track-layout-geometry/ discuss a bit why it is so impossible to do a compact design with lego tracks and has some usable example in the comments.

BlueBrick: http://bluebrick.lswproject.com/ seems to be the best program to do layouts in. Starting out with one piece you can just push 'S', 'L', 'R', 'F' and have the track lay out itself.

I find it hard to do any layout that would close up on itself with standard tracks so you will either need some flex track or stick to the bulky modules based on multiple 48 stud plates.

@jerewrig: welcome to Eurobricks! I use bluebricks as well, too bad that it is difficult to run it on a Mac (I start Windows for it..., one could probably use mono but that is also not that a great solution).

B.t.w. a good idea to also introduce yourself so that we also get to know you a bit better :)

four_points_.png

Inspired by the 'dangerous layout' I made this with the four points I have.

Perhaps its not much more advance than two turnbacks connected,

but the extra interconnections might enjoy the kids - or if you make an unstable

configuration you could get it enjoyable by operating one of the outer switches...

This takes 33 straight, 27 curve, 4 points and some flex according to BlueBrick.

That means 1 Cargo Train, 1 Passenger, 3 straight & flex and 1 pack of points (substituting 1 of the straight for flex)