AngleBrick

Microscale building tips and techniques?

Hello, I'm new to the Eurobricks forum,

I really like microscale creations, and I'd like to build some, but due to the relatively small size of the scale, I'm not sure how to do it without feeling like it's (the model) too minimalist. Also, since i've never really built a microscale model (I usually stuck to minifig scale for some odd reason) I'd like some tips and techniques to help me make some microscale models without feeling super-minimalist.

TL;DR (just in case) : Anyone have some tips and/or techniques to offer me when it comes to microscale building?

PS: I didn't know where else to put this, if it's in the wrong forum section then feel free to move it.

- AngleBrick

Hello and welcome!

I make no claims to being an expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I typically don't work in mini-figure scale (mostly just due the subject matter I choose) so I can offer some personal opinions if it would help.

I think the biggest thing to remember when building small (whatever your definition of small happens to be) is abstraction. From an artist's perspective, abstraction is the conscious effort to remove details without compromising the essential form of whatever it is you're trying to render. Typically this means breaking things down into simpler forms that _suggest_ rather than depict the original idea.

Most people who take, for example, a figure drawing class can't draw a human body on day one, but they can draw an oval or a trapezoid and with a bit of shading those flat shapes can suggest spheres and cylinders. Two of the first lessons given is how to "break down" the human form into the essential masses (a collection of draw-able spheres and cylinders) and how to flow those masses together to capture the critical flow that will trick the viewer into seeing a human in the rough sketch even without the surface detail one would expect from other media like photography.