Shazam12

12v Turning Loop Tech Talk

Hi Andromeda,

Can you help me out on another electronics subject? No option to send a PM on this board, so I'm hijacking this thread here :-).

Was trying to get a turning loop into action for the 12v track. I've found a nice schematic on this site:

http://www.nproject.org/nl/algemene-tips/automatische-keerlus-met-een-relais-weerstand-en-twee-reedcontacten-voor-analoog-2-rail-systeem.html

I'm not too good at electronics, could you spell out for me what components to use and how to hook them up? This is a nice automated setup where the trains can keep running instead of stopping and do a pole reversal.

I'm not too good at electronics, could you spell out for me what components to use and how to hook them up? This is a nice automated setup where the trains can keep running instead of stopping and do a pole reversal.

I haven't used it but you could try this : http://www.azatrax.com/automatic-reverse-loop.html

Site's components looks very good for 12v, I'm tempted to give their sensors a go.

Cool, can we have a picture of how you've mounted and hidden the sensors?

Sure, here you go...

The sensor and infrared LED (no grass yet..)

8497883534_4194c9f0db_b.jpgInfrared sensor by alainneke, on Flickr

The power supply mounted under the table (input 15V AC, output 12V DC)

8496777235_741a3ed54d_b.jpgInfrared sensor power supply by alainneke, on Flickr

An overview of the wye (after letting the grass grow). The sensor is hidden under a little structure, the LED is mounted in the signal post

8496780605_cac06d1543_b.jpgWye overview by alainneke, on Flickr

... and how it works:

- the polarity on the left side of the wye (the tracks leading to the engine shed) matches that of the sensorless branch, so a train can pass the isolation without problems

- when passing the sensor, the polarity on the left side of the wye is reversed to match the polarity of the sensor branch*. When the train has passed, the polarity switches back