Jump to content


TRAIN TECH Help, General Questions & Talk to the Staff

ASK HERE help discussion

297 replies to this topic

#151 Electricsteam

Electricsteam

    Posts: 494
    Joined: 18-November 12
    Member: 33090
    Country: USA

Posted 06 December 2012 - 11:46 PM

View PostTheBrickster, on 06 December 2012 - 03:02 AM, said:

I responded to this a few days ago but looks like the forum trouble removed the newer material.  I moved most of the topics to the pinned topic - rarely did anyone post to it.  It's funny that it's received more action as an unpinned topic, but most because of the discontinuation discussion.



Something new I just started in the last few months, but it means that I've added a thumbnail image of the MOC in the Train Tech MOC Index with a link to the topic.  Visit the MOC Index and it will make sense - just about all MOCs have been indexed in 2012.

EDIT: I don't usually index WIP MOCs and never index LDD MOCs.  If your title is ambiguous (meaning that it does not say MOC or it's unclear that the topic is about sharing a picture of the MOC - sometimes more to discuss a building technique), it may not get indexed.  If it is clearly a MOC and MOC is missing from the title, I will add "MOC:" to the title and index.  Oh, and I don't index MODs nor do I do windows. :wink:

Doesn't that mean you need to Index my 2-4-0 ES co. Steam Locomotive :tongue:
I'm not dead! I for the matter of fact appear to be very much alive!

#152 TheBrickster

TheBrickster

  • Loved Ghost Ranger


    Posts: 9642
    Joined: 15-January 05
    Member: 174

Posted 07 December 2012 - 02:31 AM

View PostElectricsteam, on 06 December 2012 - 11:46 PM, said:

Doesn't that mean you need to Index my 2-4-0 ES co. Steam Locomotive
I suppose. :hmpf:
But first you need to add/fix your avatar.

Edit: Indexed

#153 zephyr1934

zephyr1934

    Posts: 1117
    Joined: 19-July 09
    Member: 6737

Posted 07 December 2012 - 02:53 AM

View PostTheBrickster, on 06 December 2012 - 03:02 AM, said:

I responded to this a few days ago but looks like the forum trouble removed the newer material.  I moved most of the topics to the pinned topic - rarely did anyone post to it.  It's funny that it's received more action as an unpinned topic, but most because of the discontinuation discussion.

We live in a strange world.

View PostTheBrickster, on 06 December 2012 - 03:02 AM, said:

Something new I just started in the last few months, but it means that I've added a thumbnail image of the MOC in the Train Tech MOC Index with a link to the topic.  Visit the MOC Index and it will make sense - just about all MOCs have been indexed in 2012.

Nudge nudge

#154 TheBrickster

TheBrickster

  • Loved Ghost Ranger


    Posts: 9642
    Joined: 15-January 05
    Member: 174

Posted 07 December 2012 - 03:04 AM

View Postzephyr1934, on 07 December 2012 - 02:53 AM, said:


Okay, okay, help me with these by labeling your topic with a "MOC" in the title. Always helps.
Indexed.

#155 zephyr1934

zephyr1934

    Posts: 1117
    Joined: 19-July 09
    Member: 6737

Posted 08 December 2012 - 01:42 AM

Muchas gracias, and will do with "MOC" in the future. The index is a very handy tool for pulling MOCs from the past.

#156 Murdoch17

Murdoch17

    Posts: 609
    Joined: 13-November 10
    Member: 14206
    Country: USA

Posted 31 December 2012 - 07:11 PM

I've got a Big Ben Bricks wheel question:

I'm building a 0-6-0 locomotive in LDD. As I can't put BBB medium sized wheels in LEGO Digital Designer, I need to know if those wheels are the same size as this wheel. http://www.bricklink...tem.asp?P=55423 If there is a diffrence in size, can some one who has BBB wheels in that size post a picture of how to make those wheels fit on this engine in a flanged-blind-flanged formation?

Here is the loco I'm working on:

Posted Image

Edited by Murdoch17, 31 December 2012 - 07:20 PM.

Posted Image Posted Image

Posted Image  Proud member of Gateway LEGO Users Group

#157 Electricsteam

Electricsteam

    Posts: 494
    Joined: 18-November 12
    Member: 33090
    Country: USA

Posted 31 December 2012 - 09:16 PM

View PostMurdoch17, on 31 December 2012 - 07:11 PM, said:

I've got a Big Ben Bricks wheel question:

I'm building a 0-6-0 locomotive in LDD. As I can't put BBB medium sized wheels in LEGO Digital Designer, I need to know if those wheels are the same size as this wheel. http://www.bricklink...tem.asp?P=55423 If there is a diffrence in size, can some one who has BBB wheels in that size post a picture of how to make those wheels fit on this engine in a flanged-blind-flanged formation?

Here is the loco I'm working on:

Posted Image
I am going with no.... look at the chart on BBB
I'm not dead! I for the matter of fact appear to be very much alive!

#158 Duq

Duq

    Posts: 603
    Joined: 04-September 09
    Member: 7300
    Country: Ireland

Posted 31 December 2012 - 11:50 PM

No, those wheels are the same size as the BBB small wheels; 24mm. That is, the flange diameter is 24mm.
Medium wheels are 24mm with a 30mm flange.
You can download LCad/MLCad for free by the way, and BBB wheels are available for LDraw.
If at first you don’t succeed, call it version 1.0

Posted Image

Posted Image Brick.ie - The Irish Association for Adult Fans of Lego

#159 Daedalus304

Daedalus304

    Posts: 221
    Joined: 07-October 10
    Member: 13646
    Country: USA

Posted 01 January 2013 - 05:45 PM

The wheels you linked to are the same size as BBB's small driver. My baldwin 2-6-6-2 uses the medium drivers, and I designed it using entirely LDD.

The flangeless/blind medium BBB drivers are almost exactly the same diameter as the Technic Pulley, the one with a cross axle hole the the center surrounded by 6 round holes. For the flanged wheels, I used the same pulley but added the traction band onto it. That's still a wee bit too small, but if you allow a half-studs worth of room around the pulley you should be good. Just think: 3 studs clearance for flangless, 4 studs clearance for flanged, and you should be safe. :)

EDIT: if you are willing to wait until the weekend I can throw together and LDD file with the axles spaced as you need them. It does require a half stud offset for the connecting rods, so be sure to get some from Zephyr for a fantastic look and reliable running. As someone who has experimented with just about every option for this wheelbase, there is no substitute for those custom rods!!!

Edited by Daedalus304, 01 January 2013 - 05:50 PM.

Latest MOCs:
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#160 Gorki247

Gorki247

    Posts: 15
    Joined: 28-December 12
    Member: 35045
    Country: UK

Posted 02 January 2013 - 01:35 AM

Hi all, I'm new to this forum but not Lego. I've been on a break for a few years but decided to get back into the game and spent the last week rebuilding all my train sets and reading up on developments in the world of Lego Trains. I already ordered a few new sets to make up for lost time.

The biggest surprise was the discontinuation of the 9V system and the move to the new PF system. I think I pretty much got to grips with the new system but do have one question that I hope you can help me with. As I understand it, one PF controller can accomodate up to 8 trains? What happens when someone has more than 8 trains? Do you just get another controller? Won't these channels interfere with those of the first controller?

Edited by Gorki247, 02 January 2013 - 01:48 AM.


#161 English Electric

English Electric

    Posts: 64
    Joined: 07-November 12
    Member: 32849
    Country: United Kingdom

Posted 02 January 2013 - 02:18 AM

View PostGorki247, on 02 January 2013 - 01:35 AM, said:

As I understand it, one PF controller can accomodate up to 8 trains?

Correct

View PostGorki247, on 02 January 2013 - 01:35 AM, said:

What happens when someone has more than 8 trains? Do you just get another controller? Won't these channels interfere with those of the first controller?

You cannot independently run more than 8 trains as all of the controllers are the same, therefore running more than 8 will result in trains clashing on the same IR channel. This gets worse if you decide to add PF lights as they take up the second channel, unless of course you plug them on to the same channel as the motor but then they will only work when the train is moving.

Edited by English Electric, 02 January 2013 - 02:19 AM.

Posted ImagePosted Image

#162 Gorki247

Gorki247

    Posts: 15
    Joined: 28-December 12
    Member: 35045
    Country: UK

Posted 02 January 2013 - 02:31 AM

View PostEnglish Electric, on 02 January 2013 - 02:18 AM, said:

You cannot independently run more than 8 trains as all of the controllers are the same, therefore running more than 8 will result in trains clashing on the same IR channel. This gets worse if you decide to add PF lights as they take up the second channel, unless of course you plug them on to the same channel as the motor but then they will only work when the train is moving.

Thanks. I suspected that would be the case. Sounds like it'll be a case of leaving some of my trains on 9V then. Luckily I do have a decent amount of 9V tracks and I can always include PF only loops in my setup. I wonder if there will be a solution from TLG in the future; they must realise people's collection will grow over time (unless they replace it with another new system in a few years :wink: ).

#163 peterab

peterab

  • Whacking witch hunter


    Posts: 1255
    Joined: 03-August 09
    Member: 6893
    Country: Australia

Posted 02 January 2013 - 06:21 AM

View PostGorki247, on 02 January 2013 - 02:31 AM, said:

I wonder if there will be a solution from TLG in the future; they must realise people's collection will grow over time (unless they replace it with another new system in a few years :wink: ).

I'm pretty sure the tech spec for the receiver includes an extra address bit potentially allowing for 16 independent trains, but I'm not sure anyone has hacked around with it yet. Even on club layouts it's pretty hard to control eight trains at the same time so I'm not sure anyone has really felt the need so far. My club runs a mix of 9V and PF and we just try to make sure the running PF trains are set to different channels, and the ones in the yard are turned off.

You could try in the technic forum if you want further details on the extra address bit.

Edited by peterab, 02 January 2013 - 06:25 AM.


#164 pinioncorp

pinioncorp

    Posts: 251
    Joined: 27-December 09
    Member: 8765

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:39 AM

From memory, the extra addresses in the alternate mode do not accommodate all functions (the stop button being one). An official set will never need so many so they'll never introduce more frequencies (us AFOLs have to beg to get the basics!) Eight trains is a lot to control at once so simply removing the receiver and changing it as necessary is the best option.

Posted Image


#165 Gorki247

Gorki247

    Posts: 15
    Joined: 28-December 12
    Member: 35045
    Country: UK

Posted 02 January 2013 - 11:56 AM

Thanks guys. I know that I'll never be running 8 trains at once so it was probably more a theoretical question.

I've got another one if you don't mind. Can you use a 9v wheelbase with a PF battery and receiver or does it need to be a PF wheelbase? And if you can, is it safe to run a train like this on a 9v powered rail? It seems to me that the motor would get power from the rail and battery at the same time, possibly harming the motor or battery? Or have I got that wrong

#166 Murdoch17

Murdoch17

    Posts: 609
    Joined: 13-November 10
    Member: 14206
    Country: USA

Posted 02 January 2013 - 04:42 PM

@ Daedalus304: Yes, a LDD file showing the placement of the BBB wheels would be most helpful! Thanks for offering to do it! :thumbup:

Edited by Murdoch17, 02 January 2013 - 04:42 PM.

Posted Image Posted Image

Posted Image  Proud member of Gateway LEGO Users Group

#167 Electricsteam

Electricsteam

    Posts: 494
    Joined: 18-November 12
    Member: 33090
    Country: USA

Posted 03 January 2013 - 03:37 AM

Has anyone else noticed the large amount of older topics being updated or is it just me. :tongue:
I'm not dead! I for the matter of fact appear to be very much alive!

#168 peterab

peterab

  • Whacking witch hunter


    Posts: 1255
    Joined: 03-August 09
    Member: 6893
    Country: Australia

Posted 03 January 2013 - 05:39 AM

View PostGorki247, on 02 January 2013 - 11:56 AM, said:

Thanks guys. I know that I'll never be running 8 trains at once so it was probably more a theoretical question.

I've got another one if you don't mind. Can you use a 9v wheelbase with a PF battery and receiver or does it need to be a PF wheelbase? And if you can, is it safe to run a train like this on a 9v powered rail? It seems to me that the motor would get power from the rail and battery at the same time, possibly harming the motor or battery? Or have I got that wrong

You can use a 9V motor with PF gear provided you can connect it. There is an adaptor cable available I think. Running that set up on 9V rails should be safe enough for the rechargeable battery since it has built in overload protection, but I wouldn't with a normal battery pack, even with rechargeable batteries in it. There's an interesting topic by Toastie here somewhere which discusses using 9V track to continuously charge a PF rechargeable battery, but I seem to remember it involves modifying the motor. I could be mistaken though. Best to read the original. The motor will be fine since it will only draw the current it needs and twice 9V is still 9V in this case. You'd need to be a bit careful about polarity though.

#169 zephyr1934

zephyr1934

    Posts: 1117
    Joined: 19-July 09
    Member: 6737

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:16 AM

View PostGorki247, on 02 January 2013 - 11:56 AM, said:

Thanks guys. I know that I'll never be running 8 trains at once so it was probably more a theoretical question.

I've got another one if you don't mind. Can you use a 9v wheelbase with a PF battery and receiver or does it need to be a PF wheelbase? And if you can, is it safe to run a train like this on a 9v powered rail? It seems to me that the motor would get power from the rail and battery at the same time, possibly harming the motor or battery? Or have I got that wrong

As others have said, the frequencies are not unique. The only real concern is that you do not accidentally have two trains powered up on the same frequency. So plan ahead of you are building the IR receivers into your trains or include an access hatch to change the frequency.

Yes, I think you can safely power a 9v motor with a PF battery, but given the cost of the 9v motor compared to a PF motor I'm not sure you'd ever want to. When you do power a 9v motor from PF, any 9v track under it would be energized. I don't think I would attempt to power the motor both from the track and a battery, but...? One interesting thing that this brings about (as I think Steve B. first pointed out) is that you can mix plastic and 9v track to power track side features from the train's battery, e.g., crossing lights or ??? But you do so at the expense of reducing the power to the motor.

Finally, one nice thing about PF is that you don't have to deal with the power drop on long loops of track and you can go slower too. I still like my 9v, but PF has some strong points.

#170 Daedalus304

Daedalus304

    Posts: 221
    Joined: 07-October 10
    Member: 13646
    Country: USA

Posted 05 January 2013 - 03:06 AM

View PostMurdoch17, on 02 January 2013 - 04:42 PM, said:

@ Daedalus304: Yes, a LDD file showing the placement of the BBB wheels would be most helpful! Thanks for offering to do it! :thumbup:

Hey! I put together a somewhat comprehensive LXF file for you, using some stand-in BBB medium wheels. Turns out the technic pulleys are right about spot on with the real BBB wheels! Just to be on the safe side, I included two methods of spacing them close together with different offset styles, and I also included a couple basic structures that I tested with real bricks and real BBB Med Drivers to make sure they work. Building in 6 wide is going to leave you with a rather high looking running board, but as the wheels are also exactly 1 brick thick you can build outside them if you so wish. I also included two other structures highlighting the odd build clearances needed with one version of the wheel offset. I hope you find this file helpful!

Posted Image

As you can see, to fit them in the 8-stud wheelbase you need to have your center axle offset from the other two, because of the flanged drivers. Flanged drivers are tricky, but easier to build with when they are on an offset (Offset axles are in green bricks, red bricks are not) because you can build more tightly around them. My Baldwin Mallet engine uses this form of spacing, but it worked well because that engine has no running board the there is some tight piston spacing.

For your tank engine I'd suggest you use the 9-stud wheelbase (The top one). This makes your flanged drivers on "friendly" spacings which are easier to deal with and build around - as so:

Posted Image

With just a mild amount of recolouring you should be able to use the frames from the LXF on your actual engine, as these substitute wheels are extremely close to the real BBB drivers in physical dimensions. I hope this was the information you were looking for, if I missed anything helpful please let me know. :classic:
Latest MOCs:
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#171 Murdoch17

Murdoch17

    Posts: 609
    Joined: 13-November 10
    Member: 14206
    Country: USA

Posted 05 January 2013 - 04:42 AM

Thanks Daedalus304! This is exactly what I needed. You have made my day.
Posted Image Posted Image

Posted Image  Proud member of Gateway LEGO Users Group

#172 Murdoch17

Murdoch17

    Posts: 609
    Joined: 13-November 10
    Member: 14206
    Country: USA

Posted 16 January 2013 - 08:04 PM

Ok, I just got my engine built and the wheels kep getting stuck.... they refuse to turn with my drive rod. I've used a 9  stud technic lift arm: no configuration works, they all just throw the center wheel out of postion. I used your first example... which just stressed the liftarm..

Please help?

Posted Image

EDIT: Nevermind, replaced the siderods and BBB wheels with my original design. However, I kept the BBB design put together.... just in case I ever need it . :wink:

EDIT #2: Thanks you guys! I have not reinstated the BBB design, albiet modfied just a bit elimnate the 1/2 stud offset. Thanks again!

Edited by Murdoch17, 17 January 2013 - 03:09 PM.

Posted Image Posted Image

Posted Image  Proud member of Gateway LEGO Users Group

#173 Daedalus304

Daedalus304

    Posts: 221
    Joined: 07-October 10
    Member: 13646
    Country: USA

Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:44 PM

It took me a minute to realize what was wrong but I think I know - your driverods are locking up because you're using a technic liftarm. Since your middle wheel is on a half-stud offset it won't line up with the holes on the liftarm.

That doesn't mean there's no options, though. The easiest (and imo best) option is to get some custom drive rods from Zephyr. You can also try using some custom-length flew cable rods (the most difficult option). However, the easiest purist option would be to not connect your driverod to the center wheels. It would be easy to throw some gears in there to make sure the center wheels still spin in synch, though.
Latest MOCs:
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#174 Spitfire2865

Spitfire2865

    Posts: 480
    Joined: 07-January 13
    Member: 35687
    Country: United States

Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:44 PM

View PostMurdoch17, on 16 January 2013 - 08:04 PM, said:

Ok, I just got my engine built and the wheels kep getting stuck.... they refuse to turn with my drive rod. I've used a 9  stud technic lift arm: no configuration works, they all just throw the center wheel out of postion. I used your first example... which just stressed the liftarm..

Please help?

Posted Image

EDIT: Nevermind, replaced the siderods and BBB wheels with my original design. However, I kept the BBB design put together.... just in case I ever need it . :wink:
I looked at the spacing of the axles and they are not evenly spaced. There is a 2-1/2 stud gap between the outer and middle axles. The rod will not work with the uneven spacing.
Growing Old is Mandatory, Growing Up is Optional. -Anonymous

#175 pizdabolkin

pizdabolkin

    Posts: 2
    Joined: 28-April 10
    Member: 10446

Posted 20 January 2013 - 03:09 PM

Just bought our first lego train. and have some remarks/questions.   Is it normal that the power of the batteries has so much influence over the performance.  Full batteries means derailing when going to fast, a couple of hours later, you can run it full speed (but less battery power).   One cool feature I discoverd was that I could program the pf controls in my tv's universal remote control/    
<br>



Reply to this topic



  



Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: ASK HERE, help, discussion

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users