Jump to content


LDD 4.3.5 bugs

LDD bugs 4.3.5

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
167 replies to this topic

#76 Aanchir

Aanchir

  • Color Encyclopedia


    Posts: 7623
    Joined: 31-December 09
    Member: 8841
    Country: United States

Posted 11 October 2012 - 10:22 PM

Aw, shoot, the errors I reported got lost in the downtime. So let me make a brief summary:


Edited by Aanchir, 11 October 2012 - 10:22 PM.

Posted Image recommends the following sites:
Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


#77 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5633
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 12 October 2012 - 08:25 AM

Thanks for re-posting :classic:
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#78 RogueIce

RogueIce

    Posts: 10
    Joined: 27-July 12
    Member: 29897

Posted 12 October 2012 - 10:51 PM

So I'm having some painting issues with the 87610 Boba Fett helmet.  In LDD Extended, it would appear that along the front of the helmet, you can paint in three sections: the visor, the "cheek" and the "jaw" (my terms).  The problem is that LDD seems rather finicky in the colors it wants to show when I do this.  And that it seems to change with every time I open and close the program!  When I use the eyedropper on each section, it'll register as what the color should be, even if it doesn't show it.

Here's a couple images to show what I'm talking about:

Yesterday: https://dl.dropbox.c...creenShot66.png
Today: https://dl.dropbox.c...reenShot66b.png

I have made zero changes to the models, file, LDD's options, my graphics (drivers are up to date) or anything else.  And having just closed and reopened the program and file, I get yet another variation.  Again, the eyedropper will register the colors fine (and when it flashes on the piece, it flashes the proper color until I move the mouse away) but the display is wonky.

I'm not 100% sure if this is some weird LDD issue or just me.  Can anyone experiment?  If you get the same issues I guess it's a bug.

I'd also like to reiterate the shortcomings of the palette on certain resolutions.  There's at least one more row I can just barely make out when LDD isn't maximized, but I can't see it. :(

#79 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5633
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 13 October 2012 - 09:58 AM

View PostRogueIce, on 12 October 2012 - 10:51 PM, said:

So I'm having some painting issues with the 87610 Boba Fett helmet.
I'm not 100% sure if this is some weird LDD issue or just me.  Can anyone experiment?  If you get the same issues I guess it's a bug.

I'd also like to reiterate the shortcomings of the palette on certain resolutions.  There's at least one more row I can just barely make out when LDD isn't maximized, but I can't see it. :(
I did some initial testings and didn't find any issue with the helmet, but let's see if anyone else can spot some error.

Yes, the palette is not optimized for all screen resolutions. For these kind of errors, I always recommend a report o the LEGO Customer Services as well. Because then the report gets to the LDD Team also the official way meaning that not only "hardcore fans" have bumped into the problem.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#80 Toa_Of_Justice

Toa_Of_Justice

    Posts: 574
    Joined: 01-February 08
    Member: 2644
    Country: United States

Posted 14 October 2012 - 04:56 AM

62701 won't go fully up against 58090/55982 (as in set 8634).

Posted Image

LXF File

Tinker Posted Image Bell | 21103 Posted Image Revamp | iWin Posted Image Dual Device Dock


Please see my Brickshelf gallery for more MOCs!

I don't mind if anyone borrows any part of any of my MOCs. Please be sure to give me credit though.


#81 Mrcool1804

Mrcool1804

    Posts: 149
    Joined: 03-February 10
    Member: 9414
    Country: USA

Posted 14 October 2012 - 09:49 PM

View Postdrdavewatford, on 11 October 2012 - 02:24 PM, said:

Glad to see Eurobricks back up again !

I've recently 'upgraded' to the latest iMac OS (Mountain Lion I think) and now I can't see the outlines on the pieces when I use LDD, and the option to switch this feature on is greyed out in the menu. Is there a fix ?

Thanks,

D.

I too have this problem, however I am running Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5

#82 Blip

Blip

    Posts: 46
    Joined: 06-February 12
    Member: 25734

Posted 16 October 2012 - 11:31 AM

View PostRogueIce, on 12 October 2012 - 10:51 PM, said:

So I'm having some painting issues with the 87610 Boba Fett helmet.  In LDD Extended, it would appear that along the front of the helmet, you can paint in three sections: the visor, the "cheek" and the "jaw" (my terms).  The problem is that LDD seems rather finicky in the colors it wants to show when I do this.  And that it seems to change with every time I open and close the program!  When I use the eyedropper on each section, it'll register as what the color should be, even if it doesn't show it.

Here's a couple images to show what I'm talking about:

Yesterday: https://dl.dropbox.c...creenShot66.png
Today: https://dl.dropbox.c...reenShot66b.png

I have made zero changes to the models, file, LDD's options, my graphics (drivers are up to date) or anything else.  And having just closed and reopened the program and file, I get yet another variation.  Again, the eyedropper will register the colors fine (and when it flashes on the piece, it flashes the proper color until I move the mouse away) but the display is wonky.

I'm not 100% sure if this is some weird LDD issue or just me.  Can anyone experiment?  If you get the same issues I guess it's a bug.

I'd also like to reiterate the shortcomings of the palette on certain resolutions.  There's at least one more row I can just barely make out when LDD isn't maximized, but I can't see it. :(

I've been having the same problem with LDD being finicky about colours; it does the same thing when trying to paint R2 domes.  I'm not seeing changes between opening different sessions though, sorry.   :(

#83 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5633
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 16 October 2012 - 12:02 PM

All bugs so far has been reported to TLG.

With one exception: The "Mac OS X Lion" -problem. In that case I recommend you make a report directly to TLG custom services.
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#84 Mrcool1804

Mrcool1804

    Posts: 149
    Joined: 03-February 10
    Member: 9414
    Country: USA

Posted 16 October 2012 - 12:10 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on 16 October 2012 - 12:02 PM, said:

All bugs so far has been reported to TLG.

With one exception: The "Mac OS X Lion" -problem. In that case I recommend you make a report directly to TLG custom services.

Do you have a direct link? Id be happy to report it.

#85 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5633
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 16 October 2012 - 01:16 PM

View PostMrcool1804, on 16 October 2012 - 12:10 PM, said:

Do you have a direct link? Id be happy to report it.
Well, not really. I'd just go to lego.com and find "customer support" or something like that.

EDIT: Found it at: http://service.lego.com/
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#86 donut2k

donut2k

    Posts: 24
    Joined: 07-November 10
    Member: 14119
    Country: Spain

Posted 16 October 2012 - 03:21 PM

View PostSuperkalle, on 16 October 2012 - 12:02 PM, said:

All bugs so far has been reported to TLG.

With one exception: The "Mac OS X Lion" -problem. In that case I recommend you make a report directly to TLG custom services.

I did a service request on the the LEGO site and got in response that they'll forward the bug/request to the LDD expert, I got an ID for the ticket and didn't do a followup, will try tonight and will report back here.

Update 19th Octobre: I got the official response: Apple changed one OpenGL function in 10.8.2 and 10.7.5 that disallows this functionality in LDD. The mail doesn't state if they are working with apple or finding a workaround..

Edited by donut2k, 19 October 2012 - 10:21 PM.


#87 DOTM Shockwave

DOTM Shockwave

    Posts: 149
    Joined: 02-February 12
    Member: 25482
    Country: United States

Posted 26 October 2012 - 04:48 PM

While part #98590 recognizes parts with sockets on them (ex: part #90612) as connection points, it doesn't recognize any of the armor shell pieces (ex: part #90641) as connection points.
Posted Image

#88 Masta' Blasta'

Masta' Blasta'

    Posts: 267
    Joined: 03-September 11
    Member: 20204

Posted 27 October 2012 - 04:49 AM

Part 98133 is no longer duel colorable.

Warning: Fluent in Randomness


#89 DenJansen

DenJansen

    Posts: 3
    Joined: 27-October 12
    Member: 32713

Posted 27 October 2012 - 06:46 AM

View Postdonut2k, on 16 October 2012 - 03:21 PM, said:

I did a service request on the the LEGO site and got in response that they'll forward the bug/request to the LDD expert, I got an ID for the ticket and didn't do a followup, will try tonight and will report back here.

Update 19th Octobre: I got the official response: Apple changed one OpenGL function in 10.8.2 and 10.7.5 that disallows this functionality in LDD. The mail doesn't state if they are working with apple or finding a workaround..

Bogus :sad:  This has seriously put a damper on my TARDIS project.  Cuz, y'know, it's mostly blue.  Which makes it hard to build when I can't see the outlines *huh* .  Guess I'll have to use Windows to keep working on this.

Please keep us posted. I love to hear if somebody comes up with a workaround!

#90 Crash Sanders

Crash Sanders

    Posts: 600
    Joined: 20-August 08
    Member: 3771
    Country: Russia

Posted 27 October 2012 - 10:16 AM

Greetings!

The problem is: every time I want to place a decal on a piece (mostly minfig head) when I am opening pop-up palette, it's bottom border always going beyond brick count section (and Windows taskbar) so I am not able to see and use a few of lower rows of faces.
Posted Image

See what I mean? And more over, the same problem is with color palette. With Legacy section to be more specific.

Is there any hope that development team will re-make those pop-up palettes? Maybe they'll place a scrollbar? >_<

My laptop's resolution is 1366x768 (which is aximum of course so I can't just change resolution) and I am curious if anyone had the same problem with another resolutions?

Edited by -N13OS-, 27 October 2012 - 10:24 AM.


#91 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2234
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 27 October 2012 - 11:15 AM

This is a known problem.
I move the post inside the proper topic.
"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!

#92 Crash Sanders

Crash Sanders

    Posts: 600
    Joined: 20-August 08
    Member: 3771
    Country: Russia

Posted 27 October 2012 - 11:35 AM

@ Calabar I've read your post and agree that it would be great if color and decal palette will be placed in the sidebar.

Edited by -N13OS-, 27 October 2012 - 11:35 AM.


#93 Toa_Of_Justice

Toa_Of_Justice

    Posts: 574
    Joined: 01-February 08
    Member: 2644
    Country: United States

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:15 AM

Original post (with LXF file)

View PostToa_Of_Justice, on 29 October 2012 - 03:09 AM, said:

  • I had to attach the wolf's ears via scaffolding--they wouldn't attach naturally.
  • Part 32310 won't attach to the wolf in the correct place.

-Toa Of Justice

#94 pbk420

pbk420

    Posts: 83
    Joined: 08-August 10
    Member: 12460

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:59 AM

View Post-N13OS-, on 27 October 2012 - 10:16 AM, said:

Greetings!

The problem is: every time I want to place a decal on a piece (mostly minfig head) when I am opening pop-up palette, it's bottom border always going beyond brick count section (and Windows taskbar) so I am not able to see and use a few of lower rows of faces.


See what I mean? And more over, the same problem is with color palette. With Legacy section to be more specific.

Is there any hope that development team will re-make those pop-up palettes? Maybe they'll place a scrollbar? >_<

My laptop's resolution is 1366x768 (which is aximum of course so I can't just change resolution) and I am curious if anyone had the same problem with another resolutions?

I made a template of just heads with all the decorations . I just pull that out pick the head I need and remove the rest.

#95 Mrcool1804

Mrcool1804

    Posts: 149
    Joined: 03-February 10
    Member: 9414
    Country: USA

Posted 31 October 2012 - 12:34 PM

View Postdonut2k, on 16 October 2012 - 03:21 PM, said:

I did a service request on the the LEGO site and got in response that they'll forward the bug/request to the LDD expert, I got an ID for the ticket and didn't do a followup, will try tonight and will report back here.

Update 19th Octobre: I got the official response: Apple changed one OpenGL function in 10.8.2 and 10.7.5 that disallows this functionality in LDD. The mail doesn't state if they are working with apple or finding a workaround..

Thanks for your update. I guess we could always roll back to the version prior to 10.7.5 if you absolutly had to.

#96 Jackattack7

Jackattack7

    Posts: 549
    Joined: 08-September 12
    Member: 31623
    Country: UK

Posted 31 October 2012 - 07:51 PM

Mine cannot even connect to the server. Trolled !!!! :wall:
My Youtube channel, http://www.youtube.c...x?feature=mhee My Flickr account http://www.flickr.co...tack7s_pstream
My Twitter: https://twitter.com/Ryanjack_1997

Want to buy Hero Factory 2.0, Star Wars clone wars, Power Miners or Atlantis Lego sets. If so check this out:
http://www.eurobrick...showtopic=83625

#97 donut2k

donut2k

    Posts: 24
    Joined: 07-November 10
    Member: 14119
    Country: Spain

Posted 01 November 2012 - 09:52 AM

View PostMrcool1804, on 31 October 2012 - 12:34 PM, said:

Thanks for your update. I guess we could always roll back to the version prior to 10.7.5 if you absolutly had to.

There is a new build for 10.8.3, maybe it's already fixed in this new version.. I'm not in the developer program so no way of testing this.. let's wait for the next version and cross fingers!

#98 Graysmith

Graysmith

    Posts: 345
    Joined: 18-January 12
    Member: 24460

Posted 01 November 2012 - 05:57 PM

A couple I've spotted:


• Can’t attach a 2x2 plate (3022) or a 2x2 plate with 1 knob (87580) to the top of a barrel (2489). In fact, I tried a whole bunch of bricks and plates, and round ones were the only ones that could be attached. Bug or a limitation of the software?

• The “Sea King” helmet (89918) does not attach to a round 1x1 brick (3062). It does attach to the nose cone and regular minifig head though.

#99 CM4Sci

CM4Sci

    Posts: 2817
    Joined: 18-December 11
    Member: 23274
    Country: USA

Posted 01 November 2012 - 08:54 PM

View PostGraysmith, on 01 November 2012 - 05:57 PM, said:


• The “Sea King” helmet (89918) does not attach to a round 1x1 brick (3062). It does attach to the nose cone and regular minifig head though.


Are you sure?

Posted Image


-Sci

   Posted Image


#100 Graysmith

Graysmith

    Posts: 345
    Joined: 18-January 12
    Member: 24460

Posted 02 November 2012 - 03:37 AM

I just tested it again, and the bug is even weirder than I first thought. The helmet will attach to the round 1x1 brick if they are facing the same direction. Rotate the helmet 90 degrees to either side and it won't attach to the round brick (unless you rotate the brick as well). It'll also attach at 180 degrees rotation.

Posted Image





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: LDD, bugs, 4.3.5

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users