Jump to content


Base plate problem


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Munkeywrench3081

Munkeywrench3081

    Posts: 2
    Joined: 30-August 12
    Member: 30827

Posted 30 August 2012 - 12:41 AM

Hi, I just finished creating a vehicle on Lego Digital and I want to put a base plate under it but no matter which plate I try I just cant attach it. Is it possible to put a base plate under something after you built it?

#2 Seluryar

Seluryar

    Posts: 166
    Joined: 23-May 10
    Member: 10876
    Country: United States

Posted 30 August 2012 - 01:17 AM

Try this:
Posted Image
Attach the plates to under the vehicle, then place the baseplate under that, then remove the plates from under the vehicle to make it look normal.

Edited by Seluryar, 30 August 2012 - 01:18 AM.

With Lego, All things are possible
Posted Image  |  Posted Image  |  Posted Image  |  Posted Image

#3 purpleparadox

purpleparadox

    Posts: 1610
    Joined: 20-February 12
    Member: 26763
    Country: Canada

Posted 30 August 2012 - 02:13 AM

View PostSeluryar, on 30 August 2012 - 01:17 AM, said:

Try this:
*snip*
Attach the plates to under the vehicle, then place the baseplate under that, then remove the plates from under the vehicle to make it look normal.
Wouldn't the vehicle be left floating above the baseplate if you did that?

Posted Image


#4 Masta' Blasta'

Masta' Blasta'

    Posts: 256
    Joined: 03-September 11
    Member: 20204

Posted 30 August 2012 - 03:48 AM

View Postpurpleparadox, on 30 August 2012 - 02:13 AM, said:

Wouldn't the vehicle be left floating above the baseplate if you did that?

It's still a better solution than none at all.
Personally, I prefer to elevate objects using a rod and clip, but either solution will somewhat work. The reason I favor mine is that it lets you place the vehicle more accurately. I also use this method when fixing a head on a minifigure that is utilizing either armor or a cape.

Warning: Fluent in Randomness


#5 Calabar

Calabar

    Posts: 2142
    Joined: 11-April 10
    Member: 10232
    Country: Italy

Posted 30 August 2012 - 08:10 AM

It is not possible to connect the vehicle to the baseplate, so you have to drop it over.

Some solutions could be:
  • a static scaffolding, such as the one suggested by Seluryar. You can use different bricks to built it to have a more precise placement of the tires on the baseplate.
  • place a plate next to the vehicle, an then connect the baseplate to it. That will put the baseplate at the right vertical distance from the vehicle, but only for (partly) smooth baseplates (for example, roads). Then you have to move the vehicle over the baseplate, selecting it together with a brick on the ground level.
  • a dynamic scaffolding. I usually built it using an axle and a bush. Select the vehicle together with the bush and move this last one along the axle until the vehicle "land" on the baseplate. You can use another scaffolding to move the the vehicle over the desired point on the baseplate.
You can combine different techniquest to fit your needs. For example you can use a static sfaccolding to place the vehicle and then use a simple vertical dynamic scaffolding to precisely drop it on the baseplate.

NOTE: it is a good thing to use a "group" for the vehicle, to make easy to select it. Once you move it on the scene, it could be difficult to select it with the selection rectangle.
"Official LEGO Sets made in LDD" topic: Read guidelines before posting!

#6 Seluryar

Seluryar

    Posts: 166
    Joined: 23-May 10
    Member: 10876
    Country: United States

Posted 30 August 2012 - 08:10 PM

View Postpurpleparadox, on 30 August 2012 - 02:13 AM, said:

Wouldn't the vehicle be left floating above the baseplate if you did that?

Just barely, but since most models are looked at from an angle, you shouldnt really notice

Posted Image
With Lego, All things are possible
Posted Image  |  Posted Image  |  Posted Image  |  Posted Image

#7 xSergio74

xSergio74

    Posts: 182
    Joined: 19-June 09
    Member: 6441
    Country: Chivasso

Posted 30 August 2012 - 09:11 PM

I really cannot believe this program has such limitation !
How could this be the preferred LEGO cad program?
Even MLCAD is better !!!

#8 Superkalle

Superkalle

    Posts: 5298
    Joined: 21-December 08
    Member: 4755
    Country: Sweden

Posted 30 August 2012 - 09:26 PM

View PostxSergio74, on 30 August 2012 - 09:11 PM, said:

I really cannot believe this program has such limitation !
How could this be the preferred LEGO cad program?
Even MLCAD is better !!!
A bit too much trolling there  :sceptic:

(If you want to discuss pros and cons of different programs, please create a separate topic)
Eurobricks Digital Design Forum - for all your LDD and Ldraw cravings

#9 Munkeywrench3081

Munkeywrench3081

    Posts: 2
    Joined: 30-August 12
    Member: 30827

Posted 30 August 2012 - 09:33 PM

Thanks for the info everyone  :classic:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users